We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,888)
Filter reviews
1,888 results
Traveller rating
738
642
307
136
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
642
307
136
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelportland streetcity centrestreet noisenespresso machineq parkgood sizecooked breakfastafternoon teagreat central locationcomfy bedsaturday nightlovely roomexecutive roomwould stay againbreakfast was excellentreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
772 - 777 of 1,888 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Booked a standard double and got upgraded for free as there was no standards left. Room decor was nice, quite spacious, had iron and board and plenty of hanging space. Nespresso machine, ice available and a bottle opener. Huge, comfy bed, heated towel rails and air con. Bathroom was clean and everything worked fine. Room was on fourth floor and couldn't see down to the ground from the window. Booked here not realising it was pride weekend. Slightly noisy out on the street but everything quietened down by about 11pm. Our adjoining neighbours had to complain to the manager about something late at night and we could hear every word rather loudly. Hotel is in a good location for many of the city sights. We parked on the Q Park piazza which is only a couple of minutes walk away and you can get a 30% off voucher at the hotel. Would enjoy to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank grotbags89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

Dear grotbags89

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the recent bank holiday weekend. Unfortunately we are unable to control the behaviour of some guests until the problem has escalated to the point it disturbs other guests, however I'm glad in the main that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you visit again in the future.

Ryan Crout
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Really good location in the city centre, comfortable bed, clean hotel, friendly staff, however they gave us the disable room and the toilet was uncomfortable to take a shower, the sink was very low...

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank silviag160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear silviag160

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I 'm glad that you were able to benefit from our excellent location. I will look into your reservation in greater detail in so to understand why you were allocated an accessible room in order to improve our service.

Ryan Crout
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We was booked in the town house but we actually stayed at their stster hotek Macdonald & Spa. I recieved a phone call from a lovely member of staff saying there had been a flood & they had to move us to another hotel. All the staff where excellent we had a brilliant room on the 8th floor with great views thought a massive double window. The best bonus was that check out was at 12 & you could have breakfast up to 12 as well. So a good lie in was available and you didnt feel you where rushed to get you out.
Breakfast was perfect

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dianef102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear dianef102

Thank you for the kind review, i will be sure to pass on the feedback to our sister hotel as the praise in this instance is theirs and i a m sure they will appreciate your fantastic feedback.

Ryan Crout
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

fantastic central location, close to bars & restaurants clean spacious room, staff on reception and the bar were extremely polite, lots of choice for breakfast, Full English was nice when we eventually got it. there was a problem with the kitchen, explanation would of been nice instead of just leaving us all sat there wondering what was going on, we would recommend the hotel and stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CTT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Carol T

Thank you for the kind review i'm glad you enjoyed your time with us while in Manchester and that all the staff you encountered left a positive impression.

Ryan Crout
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I took my wife here for an anniversary night out, the room was of a very good standard although we had problems with the electronic key card for the door, the reception staff were helpfull and friendly,next morning at breakfast was a disaster, we had to queue for 15 minutes for a table then we waited another 15mins for our tea and coffee to arrive the waiter said there was only 1 breakfast chef on duty and 72 guests so if we wanted a full english breakfast it was another 25 minute wait, we gave up and had a continental from the self serve buffet,note to the management "this is not good get your act together.".other than that it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MacclesfieldMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Dear MacclesfieldMike

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Macdonald Townhouse. We are constantly reviewing our manning levels dependent on the levels of business. Unfortunately in this instance we had a large number of guests request breakfast which had a significant impact on the levels of service.

As ever we will use your feedback to ever improve the product we offer.

Ryan Crout
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews