We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January offer ”
Review of The Living Room

The Living Room
Ranked #307 of 2,528 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: USD 9 - USD 50
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: Rail: Victoria Station/Salford Central. A free bus runs from Piccadilly station till 7pm everyday it stops outside The Living Room.
Description: "Celebrating 18 years this year, Manchester's original premium cocktail bar/restaurant is still the place to be seen" Friendly service of a food menu encompassing hearty classics such as Fillet Steak and Fish & Chips to lighter bites such as Watermelon Salads and Eggs Benedict. Classic and contemporary cocktails from around the world, hand crafted with flair and enthusiasm by professional mixologists and a wine and champagne list to perfectly compliment any meal. The restaurant boasts an impressive baby grand piano with live musical performances many nights, leading up to resident and guest DJs creating a vibrant party scene into the early hours at weekends. Our Cocktail Master Classes are presented with passion, knowledge and banter by bar tenders dedicated to their craft and guaranteed to put a smile on your face. Restaurant tables and bar booths sell out fast on weekends so advance booking is recommended. Please contact the events team to reserve bar booths or for information on our Private Function Rooms to suit any occasion, from birthday parties to weddings and business meetings. All functions can be individually tailored to suit your needs.
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Took advantage of the two courses for £12 lunch for January on Saturday with two friends. Loved the food, could have eaten more of the chicken teriyaki! My friends sticky toffee pud looked devine. Absolutely fab deal with a drink thrown in too. Haven't been here for years but we enjoyed it.

Thank ClaireabelleRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLR_Manchester, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear ClaireabelleRed,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the January Offer, it definitely is a great deal. And the Sticky Toffee Pudding is one of our favourites too ;)

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Warmest Regards,

TLR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

What can I say...
You lived far beyond my expectations here
From past experience (pre refurb) I found this place a little pretentious and over priced - sorry!!!!!
My best friend chose where and what we were doing for my hen, so as you can imagine I was a little apprehensive to say the least!!!
How wrong I was
I take it all back
Our mixologist was fabulous, funny and friendly
Our experience was amazing
The cocktails were divine - you make them in pairs, choose your own, have competitions & shots too
The food was outstanding and plentiful - nobody was left hungry and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all
My only complaint...
As we were in the bar above the entrance - we had to go up another floor then outside over a galvanised bridge ‘thing’ to get to the ladies
Slightly disappointing for somewhere so prestige
But all in all
10 out of 10 and we WILL be back
Thank you!!!!!

Thank Monkeysocks1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLR_Manchester, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Monkeysocks1972,

Thank you for your shining review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your cocktail masterclass and very glad that you had a great time spending your Hen Party with us :)

We are sorry about the access to the toilets. There are other routes to other toilets on different floors, but the building is a little bit of a maze and unfortunately, due to it's design, the outside shortcut is the most convenient way to access them from the Grey Goose Lounge where your masterclass was.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, both the masterclass and the dining, and hope you will think of us again for any occasion.

Warmest regards,
TLR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Been here a few times with work and friends - drinks are always good and the food is tasty too.

Gets busy at peak times but ample tables make it easy to get a seat.

Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLR_Manchester, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Matthew H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we really appreciate it.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed visiting with us regularly and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Be sure to get yourself booked in for our January offer of 2 course lunch and a drink from £12 or 2 course dinner and a drink from £16.

Warmest Regards,

TLR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We booked the 2 courses and a glass of wine for £16. It was excellent value - we paid extra for a steak and pepper sauce and they were just perfect. Service from Bruno was excellent. We’re definitely going again - they have recently done it up and it’s really improved the restaurant ambiance.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Penelope015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLR_Manchester, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Penelope015,

Thank you for your review; we really appreciate all your positive feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal and the January offer. We think it is a great deal too! Also, thank you for your comments regarding service, we will pass them on to Bruno; he will be thrilled at the compliments!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Warmest Regards,

TLR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Awful experience.

From the start very unorganised, my partner and I were clearly forgotten about before going to ask to be seated after 35 minutes of waiting. Atmosphere was extremely loud where we couldn’t communicate with each other and watched the staff struggle. Once we had chosen our starter, main and dessert we twice had the wrong dishes brought to us. After the starter, which was very average. We were presented with a very chewy steak, which both me and my partner had a bite of and couldn’t believe what was being served and how poorly organised and loud the atmosphere was! If you enjoy eating in the middle of a night club, I highly recommend. After all of these events the waiter was very polite, I felt sorry for him as it must be extremely hard to communicate between themselves in that chaos. The manager approached me and my partner and was very defensive and rude, the only person with authority and who could take the criticism on board and change the atmosphere for the better told me this is the ‘Manchester experience’. Instead of dealing with the situation professionally he was arrogant and an aggressive person to deal with. After failing to get through to the manger we stood up and left. A horrible experience which was a shame as we went because of being recommended, but obviously a lot of family members have been on here!

1  Thank GStainfield11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLR_Manchester, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

We are very sorry for your experience and very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us on the evening.
We did try to compensate you for your experience by taking care of your bill as a gesture from us.
The manger that dealt with your complaint was very understanding and very sincere in his approach.
He understood that the experience you had, fell well short hence his gesture towards your table. He also understood and apologised for the lively atmosphere which was not what you had expected.
He explained that on NYE it was standard to have a slightly more lively atmosphere with live music, a theme and acts. Which he did state was a standard within the 'Manchester' Restaurant scene.
As the Livingroom is a bar and restaurant we do pride ourselves on an experience lead environment and this is what we wanted to achieve on the evening. So that people could celebrate their NYE with us for the entire evening.
Unfortunately this is not what your party wanted to experience, nor what you expected to experience when you booked with us.
He was extremely sincere in his apology for this, and completely understood that this is not what you wanted on the evening.
Hence the gesture of goodwill towards your table.
The feedback that you gave on the evening was completely justified as you felt that a more intimate evening was what you were looking for. The manager understood this hence his apology to you.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us.

Kind Regards
TLR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Living Room also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing