We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LOVELY WEEK IN JULY IN AN APARTMENT AT THE MANCHESTER´S CENTRE !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2017

I stayed here with my fiancé in july 2017 and we loved our week in The Light Aparthotel, when i came in to the reception i saw a beautiful reception, very modern and with a lovely fragance in the air, but we found a SERIOUS ABSENCE: in the lift area, there is needed a ramp, not only for suitcases if not for wheelchairs accesibility, also the lifts are so small for people, suitcases and wheelchairs.

We got a wonderful apartment (N*73) with a nice view onto the street and Arndale shopping and full equiped.
Found a clean apartment and each of the rooms too, but the bedrooms windows were dirty really, in relation to the balcony of our apartment (N*73), the balcony railings needs paint because are rusty

When we wanted to do check out there were no staff to help us at front desk and the website says : 24 HR reception !!

In relation to the gym: FANTASTIC !!! full equiped with air conditioner and smart tv, toilets and fitting rooms.

But we can say that was a nice week in a city we always love to visit : MANCHESTER

Room Tip: Cleanliness, cozy, nice views, good gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_Lechner005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relation M, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Victoria_Lechner005

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, we are delighted that you chose to stay here for such a special occasion and please accept our best wishes.

As you will be aware we have had direct contact regarding your review, just to clear up some of the points that were slightly negative. We do indeed have an accessible ramp for any wheelchair users, and anyone that needs to use it for heavy luggage and guests can be directed to this by the Reception team. To confirm we also do have a Reception Team available 24 hours. On your day of departure and at 6.30am, the person on duty had momentarily left so wasn't present for the 30 - 40 seconds that you were in Reception - had he of been there of course without a doubt would have assisted you with your bags to the waiting taxi.

We look forward very much to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

I stayed here recently as part of a hen do, we had 2 apartments, both apartments were so spacious and decorated in a modern cool way. The living rooms were great sizes to cook dinner and then play games and have some drinks before heading into Manchester for the evenings antics! I would definitely recommend staying here, and would happily stay here again myself. The location of the apartments is perfect, 2 mins walk to the Arndale centre.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relation M, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Jillian W

Thank you very much for the lovely review and kind words, we are thrilled that you all enjoyed the Hen Party.

Our location is the perfect base if you are wanting to explore the many superb shops, bars and restaurants that Manchester has to offer.

We would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel was right on Pitch for where we wanted to be. There were 18 of us that stayed in several apartments. We had an executive apartment which was fantastic. Very spacious and the views across Manchester were great. However the car park had limited spaces and was also very tight parking spaces ( not ideal for an estate car) several people in our group had problems trying to park. The Lifts were an absolute nightmare as they were quite small. And there were only 2 of them. We had a bad experience in that we got stuck in the lift for 20 minutes. The service we received was appalling no one came to talk to us to re assure us whilst we were in the lift. The alarm worked but the intercom system to Otis was broken. On the whole the Apartment was great. But the customer service was appalling. I would not stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relation M, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Jo M,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that overall you all enjoyed the Hen Party for your nieces weekend away.

Your input, and indeed feedback from all of our guests is vital and this is why we have made details on our car park clear on our website to advise the limited spaces and that guests in larger vehicles may struggle to park.

With regards to the lift experience some of the girls encountered, whilst of course we are very sympathetic and sorry for any discomfort they endured I would like to point out clearly what actually happened for others to read.

Our lifts have a clear sign advising max 6 guests inside with a weight restriction also, this is why we have further added our own sign to advise 5 max including guests bags. As there were 7 of you in total this had then overloaded the lift causing it to stop on the 4th floor. Once we were aware of this situation a Hotel colleague, abandoned checking in guests and went straight to the lifts, noted where you were and walked the stairs up the correct floor. She advised that an emergency lift engineer had been called out, to which someone then shouted "sorry this is my fault". Also during this time we instructed our own Maintenance team to go up to the 19th floor to re-set the lift, this fortunately allowed everyone to be released. CCTV camera time frame shows this to be 8 minutes from when the alarm was raised, not 20. The lift engineer attended, checked the lift over and confirmed it had been overloaded, tested the call button and ensured this was working. No other call outs have been made since then to me writing this now.

As some of the girls were clearly distressed a complimentary gesture offering of a drink was given to the whole group to hopefully ensure the celebrations were continued joyfully. Customer service is vitally important to us, and you will see from many fantastic reviews we are very good at looking after our guests and are extremely happy to do this.

This was an unfortunate, isolated incident outside of our control that was dealt with swiftly whilst also managing other guests within the Hotel.

Thank you again, and also for sharing the images of the 2nd Penthouse Suite you were upgraded to - we were really pleased to read that you had enjoyed this.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for my 23rd birthday. She arranged it all and staying in this hotel was a pleasant surprise, the hotel was stunning

We had a executive room booked but they upgraded us to a double executive room. With how spacious the rooms are anyway it felt like we had a hotel floor all to ourself and the interior was stunning in the room.

Only grumbles are was the door to the balcony was a pain, ours may have been broken but we could not get it to shut but it wasn't an issue as it did not make it cold. If we stayed any longer than one night we would have mentioned it

Last one was the deposit, it was £200, it come as a bit of a shock so I would make sure you know about it before booking otherwise you'll be stuck. It's worth it still with how great the hotel is

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relation M, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Josh O

Thank you for the fab review - we were delighted to read that you had a great birthday and celebrations here at the Light.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I was in Manchester for the week and being on a diet, I figured it would be better to book a serviced apartment and cook for myself rather than gorge and booze in restaurants.

Despite it's surroundings, The Light Aparthotel looks pretty smart from the outside and reception certainly builds on the initial experience with a small, modern, boutique lobby. The receptionist who checked me in was both friendly and efficient. It's conveniently located a short walk from Piccadilly Gardens.

There are two lifts towards the rear of the aparthotel. They are both quite small and up a short flight of stairs. Not good if you have mobility problems or exceptionally heavy luggage, although I'm sure someone would help if you asked.

I was in apartment 85 on the 13th floor. The first surprise was that it was a 2 bedroom even though I had booked a one bedroom executive. The second surprise was that it wasn't executive as it had no ensuite or L'Occitane toiletries.

Opening the apartment door revealed a long corridor with doors down left side and the lounge/kitchen at the end. The first room on the left was the larger of the two bedrooms with a double bed, double wardrobe, two bedside tables and lamps. There was a double socket on the wall which was supplemented by a 4-way extension cable. One very small window which was locked. Heating, though not needed was by an electric heater on the wall.

The next room was a decent sized bathroom with basin, toilet and shower over the bath. A rusty towel radiator was mounted on one wall. A lot of cracked floor tiles. The toilet roll holder was also loose. Shower temperature was good, but pressure wasn't great.

The next two doors revealed closets. The first was very shallow and housed the ironing board and iron. The second housed the water heater. Neither or them had a coat rack which would have been nice.The next room was the small bedroom which was almost entirely filled by the double bed. It had a small chest of drawers, but no wardrobe.

At the end of the corridor was the lounge/kitchen area. Maybe 4m x 4m with a large patio door leading out to a small balcony. A small, glass dining table with four chairs. A single armchair and a large sofa made up the rest of the living room furniture. A TV was mounted on the wall, but the pillar in the room obstructed the view from all bar one of the sofa seats. The door to the balcony is a pain to close, but given there is no AC, and no other windows open, you need to open it to cool off. Even up on the 13th floor, the street noise is quite loud.

The kitchen was well equipped with Bosch appliances. Fridge freezer, cooker, oven, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. The cupboards were very tired with the facing peeling off. One was even a different colour. I managed to cook a couple of decent meals, shopping at the Tesco Express next door.

One of the reasons I booked a "serviced" apartment is that you get the benefits of hotel service; basic cleaning, bed and towel changes, bins emptied. Certainly in other serviced accommodation; Staybridge for example, this has been the case. The bin hasn't been emptied and has 3 days worth of rotting food scraps in it. There is no "Welcome" book to explain who is responsible for this. It if is me, then maybe it would be nice to know where to take it to and where to get a new bin liner?

I'm quite tidy, so the dishes were always washed before I left. After discovering the bed hadn't been made the first day, I even took care of that from then on. So much for service!

Shame really. I wanted to like it but small, tired, damaged and un-serviced apartment just didn't make me want to come back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relation M, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to produce a very detailed, constructive review of you stay here at the Light. Thank you also for the lovely comments on our team, I will ensure this is passed on.

To clarify maters on some of points however; firstly, on noting prior to arrival that your stay for was business intentions we upgraded you to larger 2 bedroomed apartment to be able to give you a little extra comfort and space to be able to do any out of hours work. Access to the apartments and lifts is either via the main corridor or an accessible are with sloping ramp.

Housekeeping offer a light service on the 4th day of your stay, but anything aside of this is available to be requested at our 24 hour reception desk, including extra toiletries.

We are nearing the end of a complete overhaul of all of the apartments which will hopefully address some niggles you may have found within this apartment. We would certainly relish the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to experience this.

Hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 km away
Velvet Hotel
Velvet Hotel
#10 of 121 in Manchester
1,829 reviews
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
1.2 km away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 121 in Manchester
1,496 reviews
0.7 km away
Staycity Aparthotels Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $133 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing