We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Cotswolds Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thornton

...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Histroic Market Place
Broadway Tower nearby
Bennetts Fine Wines
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica c
1 review
“Lovely cottage but dont expect to sleep much”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was lovely and the surrounding village is very picturesque. Unfortunately we found very quickly that if you are dark skinned, you get some intense staring action. We decided to eat and get back to the cottage which is very well decorated. Its nice and cost and has been very well presented.
Unfortunately thats where it ended for us. The bed was so hard that i was in pain most of the night, and we got no more than an hours sleep at a time. Between the noisey tenant upstairs and the noise outside the bedroom we woke from one of the worst nights sleep in a long time. The bedroom windows are obviously listed, so i can understand that they cant be replaced, but they 100% need some secondary glazing as you can hear everything as if the room was divided iff by nothing more than a curtain. All this combined ment we didnt even stay the second night. We packed up and went home first thing and didnt look back. If you are light skinned and are fine with hard mattreses and a heavy sleeper im sure you'll have no problem. For us, this was a total waste of money, and considering this was my birthday gift, i was extremely disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
We are very concerned to read these comments and so sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay at our cottage. This is totally contrary to virtually every guest that has enjoyed staying at Thornton, many often on repeat visits. The bed that we have installed has a 4 star hotel grade mattress and we have had several comments from previous guests as to how comfortable it is. However I totally appreciate that some people like a soft or very soft mattress and so based on your comments we will purchase a mattress topper for those guests that wish to have something softer. We have also decided to install secondary glazing to the bedroom. We would point out though that other reviewers have commented that whilst traffic noise can occasionally be heard, particularly during rush hour, it is no worse than one would expect in a small rural town located on the high street with all the convenience this brings. When we renovated the property we were not allowed to change the windows but with secondary glazing installed this will address any issue on that front directly. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but we are sure that if you were to visit us again you would share in the delight that virtually all our guests feel after a restful break at Thornton.
Yours most sincerely
William Adams
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R
London
2 reviews
“Gorgeous Cotswolds Stay ”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautiful cottage with stunning surroundings. Perfect location. Would recommend walking via Cotswolds way to Broadway Centre stopping off at Broadway Tower. Lunch at Huxley's and dinner at The Chefs Dozen both just across the road from the cottage were lovely too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you Jessica, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There are some gorgeous eateries in Chippy, which you obviously found! Hope to see you again soon.

Lucy
Whitehorse Estate Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely character close to all services”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very lovely presented Cotswold stone cottage, Modern facilities but still with character. Is in the centre of the town so you must expect to hear people walking past at night and deliveries to shop a few doors away in the morning. But if you are really risers like us it is not an issue. Great breakfast just over the road at Huxley/s and the Sunday roast at the Eight Bells was a real treat. The property was very clean and had everything you need for a cosy stay away. Was able to park right outside and it was very easy to locate the keys from the safe box two doors down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating was not on when we arrived
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you Bob, so glad you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again!

Whitehorse Estates Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie51...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect winter retreat!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have stayed here for the last two Christmases and couldn't have wished for anything better. The cottage is ideally located in the high street (near the start of the Cotswold Way) and is just a few minutes' walk from shops, restaurants and pubs. It's warm, cosy and comfortable, and is very nicely furnished. The bed is particularly comfy and the bathroom is very well laid out, with a very large shower. The lounge is spacious yet snug, and it's lovely watching the world go by from the window seat. The cottage is perfect for the dog, too, with an enclosed yard. There is some noise from traffic, but as we live on a main road at home, this wasn't an issue for us at all. We cannot recommend Thornton highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Thanks Jean, we look forward to seeing you again and so glad you love our cottage as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUKTY
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Coming from India, i had just heard of Cotswolds and based on trip advisors recommendation, i booked the Thornton being a bit skeptical and mostly living in hotels, was a bit wary.

However, when i reached Thornton, it was described, lovely place and so conveniently located to One Stop (convenience store) and the restaurants and shops. Thornton had every amenity that a house has and perfect for a couple, it was just superb, the place was as described, specially the living room loved to sit by the fire place and read, nice and cozy.

Will Adams the contact person , was very patient whenever i called him, he heard me very patiently and answered all my queries including when i reached there to get the keys, despite the description given on email (thats me :) ).

The only drawback was it was at ground level so passers by do peek in time and again, and the noise of the traffic at early am is a bit of a bother, but thats being on a busy street, we learnt to ignore it for having a convenient location, would definitely visit again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing