We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A new experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tythe Barn Cottage

Tythe Barn Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tythe Barn Cottage
Living room Inglenook fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Tythe Barn Cottage
Living room
Inglenook fireplace
Living room with sofa
Double bedroom
Double bedroom dressing table
Staircase
Bathroom
Twin bed
Well-equipped kitchen
Kitchen
Garden with table and chairs
In the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Xlcobra
Caloundra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A new experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This very old thatched roof cottage is centrally located in the northern Cotswolds and is a great base to visit the surrounding district. Sadly the heating hadn't been switched on when we arrived so we were bloody cold the first night. As an old pyromaniac, even I couldn't get the log fire to stay alight. Apart from that the cottage is a great place for couples to spend a few romantic days pretending to be young again. Our hosts only took a bank transfer for payment which added another $30 Australian dollars to the cost, plus we were asked for an extra £15 to cover any costs that the owners may incur. As far as my paperwork shows, there weren't any "costs incurred" and we didn't get our 15 quid refunded..
On the plus side, there was a nice welcoming pack of wine, beer and biscuits and on the down side there were no tissues, stand up shower or dishwasher and the Wi Fi is a bit hit and miss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique property
Liked least: Steep and narrow stairs to the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2013
Thank you for the review - it's always good to hear what our guests think of their stay at the cottage.
We're really sorry that our guests were cold on their first night and can only apologise again about the lack of heating. Unfortunately, before leaving, the previous guests had turned it off and we hadn't noticed.
With regard to the expected refund: Guests paying from overseas are asked to include £12 in their payment to cover any unexpected bank charges. On receipt of payment they are sent a receipt and a copy of the bank credit transaction which shows any charges incurred. In this case, there was a charge so no refund was due.
The descriptions of the kitchen and bathroom on the website are accurate and don't include a dishwasher and stand-up shower.
We know the mobile reception in the Cotswolds can be a bit variable but the Wi-Fi is on a landline so shouldn't be a problem - we will check it out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buzkal
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highly recommend * good location * very close to Chipping Campden”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Highly recommend. This Coteswold thatched roof cottage, located in Ebrington, is clean, comfortable, cozy and centrally located. Ebrington is only a few miles from Chipping Campden. The popular Ebrington Arms Pub is a one-block walk.

The cottage has a large living-dinning room, with a large open fireplace at one end. The kitchen is well furnished, and I add that the owners, Sue and Geoff Turner, supplied our arrival with welcoming wine, beer, bread and milk. The upstairs has two bedrooms, one a pass-through to the bathroom.

The cottage does not have on-site parking, however street parking is within a hundred feet and was not a problem, even though the elementary school shared the street.

The cottage has a pleasant small garden/lawn.

NOTE: The owners do not accept credit card deposits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy place to stay while visiting the Cotswold
Liked least: Parking on the street - but it really was not a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjpteach
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Vacation away from your vacation!”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
4
people found this review helpful

This is a must for anyone wanting to experience the Cotswolds. This thatched cottage in the tiny village of Ebrington is magical. The 2 story home is spotlessly clean with all the modern comforts provided, including a washer/dryer. The owners are lovely and leave a delicious gift basket for you to enjoy. The large fireplace offers heat and atmosphere, and there is plenty of wood available. We were there only 3 nights but would have loved to have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staying in a thatched cottage in a village of cottages
Liked least: the bathtub
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict...
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing