We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food, good service, ok rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, good service, ok rooms”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely location, service friendly and helpful. Food both at dinner and breakfast was extremely good. Rooms ok; beds very comfy, shower fine, lack of plugs frustating... had to rearrange furniture to plug in kettle!! Generally speaking a good hotel and would reccommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagpuss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    159
    63
    27
    9
See reviews for
55
349
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

Working in the hotel industry always gives you a different prospective when stopping at hotels but the kings hotel is first class!!! We had the luxury of being in one of the cottage rooms which are outstanding and extremely clean i would definatley recommend upgrading to these rooms....although I did get chance to see the other rooms and they are full of charm and have the and cleanliness as the cottage rooms! I stopped 1 night with my partner and son and were made to feel very welcome, the food in the restaurant is to die for.... Compliments to the chef and his team! And they even provide a children's menu which my son loved....we will definatley be back again in the near future !

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank misspomeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Chipping Campden is a beautiful village to see. Unfortunately you can't see it because there are cars parked all over it. It really looks like a car park surrounded by old honey coloured buildings ready to crumble down. The Kings Hotel does its bit by having a car park at the back, next to a nice sun trap garden area. Safe for kids to play on and old people to sit quietly drinking tea.
The staff are all helpful and friendly without exception. The room (102) was all I needed. The bed was a decent sized double, coffee was filtered, with various teas, fizzy and still water, buscuits and individually wrapped sugar cubes. The bath was the biggest I've been in, in a hotel, reccommended; long, wide, deep and hot. A real monkey bath! Not all rooms have baths.
I was staying there with work and we had a meeting in the room down stairs. The room was really well serviced with food, drink and cookies. Again reccommended.
Breakfast was great. The setting is lovely, the fresh croissants were the best I've tasted. The range and quality of the other ingredients were great as well. Pink grapefruit juice; puts a smile on your face.
I know we booked six rooms and a meeting room, but we paid £85 B&B. I'd happily go back again and I'd like to take my wife next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlyderFawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We held our wedding at the King's in December 2011. Justin and his team were simply excellent. The planning process was very well structured and Justin made sure we provided all the right information, while he also tried to meet all of our requirements. The pricing was very reasonable as well.

When it came to the wedding day, there was absolutely no stress whatsoever. The venue staff were always one step ahead of us, doing everything they could do to make the day enjoyable and easy.

Our guests enjoyed their time at the hotel too, with its stylish and quirky decor and well equipped rooms.

We have eaten at the hotel restaurant on a number of occasions, and the quality of the food and service is always absolutely perfect.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel to stay at, and the staff really know how to make a special occasion special.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyfrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We could not have asked for more from the Kings hotel and it's staff. From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we felt welcomed and valued as customers. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay, both of which were extremely tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The afternoon tea was delicious on the first afternoon of arrival and the meal we had in the restaurant on our second night was absolutely superb - from the taste and presentation, to the top quality service and ambience of the restaurant itself. We cannot recomment this hotel highly enough if you need a relaxing weekend break to re-charge your batteries - and it's located in a stunningly beautiful village too, with great walks and unique shops.

Room Tip: The feature-suite located in the garden behind the hotel really does have the wow-factor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 km away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
0.0 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,036 reviews
4.1 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,194 reviews
3.3 km away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,352 reviews
16.7 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Property: The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Address: The Square - High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price range (per night): $164 - $463
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing