We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids outside of peak times”

Bella Italia Lancaster
Ranked #26 of 214 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: USD 9 - USD 20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Found just down the road from the Grand Theatre in central Lancaster, Bella Italia is an ideal pre-show restaurant. Offering superb value set menus as well as an a la carte menu full of classic Italian fare, Bella Italia attracts a varied clientele, from theatre goers to locals, families to couple. Enjoy dishes such as the antipasti mixed platter featuring Italian smoked ham, salami, tomato and basil bruschetta, buffalo mozzarella and mixed olives - perfect for sharing. Main course include spicy chicken and smoked mozzarella pizza and chargrilled salmon fillet with tomato salsa and green beans. The wine list is a celebration of Italian grapes and the beers are imported direct from Italy.
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Went here with our 2-year-old for an early lunch. We consciously try to avoid busy times when we're with our impatient little one as we know service at this kind of restaurant can be very slow during peak hours, and so on this occasion the restaurant was reasonably quiet. We also were able to order quickly, and were served within about 20 minutes or so.
I will not comment much on the food - it was what you would expect from this kind of chain restaurant, and was pretty much as described on the menu. Certainly not perfect, but when considering the price it was very reasonable. My wife particularly liked her Roma style Margherita pizza.
What we liked most about this restaurant was that it was very good for our toddler. We were impressed that there was a range of board games available - our little one loved playing with the mini 'Connect 4' game, sorting the counters according to colour and putting them in the slots. Crayons and a drawing paper were also available, and utilised! He loved the kid's menu's cheesy garlic bread, soft drink and fish & chips. We were sat at a booth which was perfect for giving him a bit of shuffle space. So, all in all, he was comfortable and kept reasonably well entertained, stopping him from getting grumpy and allowing us to enjoy the meal. And the free Wi-fi was useful for us adults (though not really good enough for the streaming of YouTube videos for bambino). Service was fairly efficient, and there was no delay obtaining the bill or paying.
Overall, I think this restaurant is very good for families with young children - but try to visit at less busy times.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank focus_Seoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BI Guest Experi... S, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Italia Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hiya,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are so happy you had a fun-filled, family meal out with Bella.

We hope you come back and see us again soon.

Ciao for now,

Bella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Visited as a family for dinner. It's bad when a 10 year old comments that you've had to wait an hour and ten minutes between starter and main course. Also asked for a cooler for our bottle of wine, I'm still waiting. Didn't have the pasta for my main course so asked for penne, couldn't have had that either but didn't bother telling me, just gave me a combination of at least two other types of pasta, not good. Go elsewhere.

1  Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BI Guest Experi... S, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Italia Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi Elaine,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are sorry your family meal with us wasn't Bella. No one should have to wait over an hour for our yummy food.

We use only the freshest and authentic to quality ingredients in our dishes from Italian, family run, producers. Our perfectly pasta is lovingly crafted by from Bruno Gaeterlli and his 3 son's and comes all the way from Lake Guarda, Verona. Because of the long commute, this can on occasion mean that we run out but should never affect a whole dish and we are sorry this ruined your dish.

We will feed this back to the Area Manager who will ensure that our standards are being met the Bella way and that our kitchens are full of our yummy ingredients.

If you would like to pick this up with us, please email us at, social@bellaitalia.co.uk

We hope we get a chance to wow your taste buds in the near future.

Ciao for now,

Bella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

The food was good and staff were alright but the place has very limited space so you will be likely waiting for a table and those available are cramped and constantly close to bumping into waiters.

Thank Simple_Food2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BI Guest Experi... S, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Italia Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hiya,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are glad you had a tasty trip with us but are sorry that the vibe was a little cramped! We will feed this back to the relevant departments to look into.

We hope to welcome you again soon and thanks again for feeding this back.

Bella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

My wife, son and I popped in for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. We sat outside in the sun. Our waiter was fantastic and explained there would be a longer wait for food. Our son loved his starter of veg & dips. He had pasta and ice cream which he also enjoyed. I had the diavlo special pizza and my wife had dairy free. The food was delicious & fresh! We really enjoyed the food and will return.

5  Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I chose to eat at Bella Italia on my lonesome due to being in Lancaster for business.

The restaurant is nicely decorated and the atmosphere was okay. I was seen to a table swiftly and my order was taken in a matter of minutes.

The reason the review is only 3 stars is due to the quality of the food. I would expect freshly cooked food made with fresh ingredients of a decent quality for the kind of prices you pay.

However, I had the pollo pancetta lasagne with a side of green beans. On the menu it states that it is made of freshly made pasta, slices of roast chicken breast and crispy pancetta. This was a very generous description of the truth, the chicken was not roast chicken breast it was small chunks (not slices) of what was tasteless watery chicken like you get in a pack from the chilled isle of Tesco or Sainsbury's. With a coatings of greasy cheese which was all the dish tasted of. The highlight of the Meal was the green beans. But they aren't exactly difficult to mess up.

Disappointed to say the least.

Thank Jacksiddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BI Guest Experi... S, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Italia Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hi Jack,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are glad you liked the Bella vibe but are sorry that the food sp-oiled the meal.

Our dishes should be hot, fresh and authentically delicious the way Mama used to make and Mama would be disappointed. We are sorry to hear this quality skipped your dishes and will be feeding this back to the Area Manager who will pick this up to with the kitchen team. If you would like to follow this up with us, please feel free to contact us at social@bellaitalia.co.uk

We do hope in the future that you give us a chance to wow your taste buds in true 5 star Bella style next time.

Ciao for now,

Bella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Italia Lancaster also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to Bella Italia Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing