We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely warm, friendly and comfortable B&B Thank You Andrea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Station House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Station House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely warm, friendly and comfortable B&B Thank You Andrea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Fabulous place to relax after our day out around historic lancaster, thank you. Great eating places in walking distance and wonderful sunny breakfast times, very helpfull staff, high qualilty breakfast , clean and tidy rooms what more can one expect, We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horrocks74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    38
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
11
47
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed here because it was in such a convenient location. However, the standard here was far below what we have come to expect from B&Bs awarded four stars! I wonder how long it has been since this B&B was inspected for its star rating? Our room, while beautifully warm during a bitter cold spell, was cramped (we could not open the wardrobe doors fully as the end of the bed prevented this), had worn decor (plastic flowers in vases, a tatty lace canopy at the head of the bed), bedding that was clean but looked as though it was years old with faded colours and not very thick and loose floorboards under the carpet. We could here EVERYTHING from the room next door and the room above us. The plumbing ran through the wall at the head of our bed and we were awakened each time someone used the toilet in the night. There was no double glazing to dampen the noise of the trains running on the track just outside our window. In the middle of the night we were awakened by a noise that turned out to be our coats falling of the hook that broke on the back of the door. As this had already happened to three of the five hooks we were left with nowhere to hang our coats on the second night of our stay. The breakfast was adequate, nothing special. Breakfast was served by a very pleasant young lady who smiled a lot but did not understand when I said I only wanted poached egg on toast and not a full English breakfast. The B&B seemed to have a number of foreign workers who were all doing as good a job as they could but we never met the owner. We felt like we were staying as tenants in a house with an absent landlord. I do not have any objection to a B&B being a two star or a three star establishment. I do object to a B&B advertising on their website that they are a four star B&B when clearly they are NOT up to the expected standard. I would not stay her again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dontlikeroughinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We chose the Old Station House B&B to stay during our John O'Groats to Lands End cycle ride because of its proximity to the town centre.

It was booked several months before but when we arrived we were informed that a plumbing problem in our room meant that we had been diverted to the "annexe".

Apart from being considerably further out of town this turned out to be a garage conversion that had mildew up the walls and smelt of damp.

We pointed out that this was not up to the promised 4 star quality but the landlady seemed to think we should be grateful for her going out of her way to help us.

Breakfast was extremely poor with a couple of bacon buns being offered. Apart from this the fridge contained a bottle of half used milk. No bread to make toast. 2 out-of-date yoghurts and a single mini box of cocoa pops.

A very small discount was offered but this was not enough but the landlady refused to negotiate any further.

This is the worst B&B experience I have ever had!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drpeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Wonderful services! Andrea is helpful!
Nice breakfast, clean room and toliet. Free wifi. The location is excellent! It is close to the city centre. Alothough it is a little bit noisy when the trains pass the rail, i think it is acceptable. It is not a busy rail. I saw the stream train through the window!
It is worth to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmonds
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Stayed 3 nights in this beautiful old period building, which I gather was the old station masters house. It's been tastefully furnished & decorated in keeping with it's origins. My husband is an historian & he thought it was delightful.

Andrea, the hostess was charming.

Breakfast was lovely.

We heard the odd train - which we expected, it did not detract from the quality of this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.2 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 km away
Crows Hotel Lancaster
Crows Hotel Lancaster
#12 of 24 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wagon & Horses
Wagon & Horses
#8 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 km away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#5 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 km away
The Royal Hotel and Bar
The Royal Hotel and Bar
#6 of 24 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Station House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Station House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Old Station House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 25 Meeting House Lane, Lancaster LA1 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price range (per night): $64 - $106
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Station House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 minutes from the centre of Lancaster & all its attractions. Easy access to Lancaster University & St Martins College and all the hospitals. Close to the train/bus station. All rooms are individually designed and en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, Iron & board and hairdryer. Varied breakfast menu. Off road private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Station House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Station House Bed And Breakfast
Old Station House Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing