We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday afternoon !”
Review of Winedown

Winedown
Ranked #22 of 611 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 26
Description: Wine Bar with over 200 wines and 150 grape varieties. 20 wines by the glass, 12 sherries by the glass. Organic & Biodynamic wines. Local Bottled Beers. Craft beers. Eclectic spirit selection. Deli counter with excellent value Cheese & Meat Boards from £7. Bread, dips, olives, cheesy nachos and other nibbles. Wine Flights from £3.50. Wine Tastings. Open Mic Night. Quiz Night.
Restaurant details
Description: Wine Bar with over 200 wines and 150 grape varieties. 20 wines by the glass, 12 sherries by the glass. Organic & Biodynamic wines. Local Bottled Beers. Craft beers. Eclectic spirit selection. Deli counter with excellent value Cheese & Meat Boards from £7. Bread, dips, olives, cheesy nachos and other nibbles. Wine Flights from £3.50. Wine Tastings. Open Mic Night. Quiz Night.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Superb on every level.
If you love wine and cheese this is the place to be .
Huge range of wines, cosy atmosphere and amazing customer service... what more could you ask for ?

Thank nicola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougie L, Owner at Winedown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Nicola,
Thanks so much for your fantastic review. We’re very proud of our wine and cheese selection and it makes us even prouder when we get such positive feedback.
See you again soon!!
Dougie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Knew this place existed but had never been in, we were wandering past on Saturday afternoon and liked the music we could here from the outside so decided to give it a try, really glad we did, very friendly inviting place. Only one of us was drinking wine but that was fine they had cider for us. Didn't eat anything on this occasion but will definitely be back to sample the lovely looking cheeses they had to offer. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank 15janets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougie L, Owner at Winedown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi,

Thanks for your very kind review. So glad you have finally found us. The music often lures people in!! Look forward to seeing you again soon & tempting you with our cheese selection!!
Cheers
Dougie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Wine was brilliant, cheese was amazing, service and ambiance fantastic. Will come back just for the Rioja time and time again.

Thank Spanishsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougie L, Owner at Winedown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Sam,

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We work hard selecting (and tasting!!) the cheese and wine so it’s a real pleasure to get such fantastic feedback. And we love the Rioja too!!
See you again soon!
Cheers
Dougie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

It’s Big Wednesday down here in Dougie’s Cheese Lair, and I don’t mean Jan Michael Vincent is a fixture that day.

So why Wednesday? -or if you’re one of the Scandinavian customers here, “Woden’s Day“.

Be Cause it’s The BIG Quiz.

What makes the quiz not the usual Yada-yada-yada? It has REAL prizes based around Winedown’s specialities, rather than cash.

Having mates gathered around to make a strong team with a big meat board and couple of bottles, one white, one red, is a winning combination as it relaxes everyone , but I oft have the Creamy Fondue with Rustic Baguette Nuggets, a couple of those is just about enough for a team of three to four.

Yum!

Thank jontycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougie L, Owner at Winedown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi jontycambpell,

Thanks so much for your fantastic review. So glad you like the Quiz!! Hope we see you again at the next one!!
Cheers
Dougie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Came with my family for a few drinks for my brothers birthday, having visited multiple times before - good wine, good service & nice people!
Also do a good themed quiz every other Wednesday

Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougie L, Owner at Winedown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Lauren,
Thanks for your very kind review. Glad you like the Quiz! See you again soon.
Cheers
Dougie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winedown also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Winedown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing