We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary
Open today: 10:30 am - 3:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Kids treat.

Took the grandchildren here the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, the kids had a great... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
_joe_griff1955
,
Preston, United Kingdom
via mobile
Time with the Owls

Really enjoyed this: Firstly the birds take a little bit of finding as you need to go through a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Petebestignored
Read all 1,905 reviews
  
Reviews (1,905)
Filter reviews
1,905 results
Traveller rating
1,683
169
24
9
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,683
169
24
9
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying display garden centre flying experience great afternoon run by volunteers money goes value for money different species per adult volunteer staff all ages visited today entrance fee keep up the good work any age staff were very friendly be visiting again
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 1,905 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Fabulous place to visit. Over 30 stunning Owls and birds of prey to see up close. We watched the flying display which lasted over an hour with 5 owls and birds and most of the audience got to hold them whilst a detailed description of each bird. Bargain at £15 for a family of 4 definitely recommend.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Astie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Visited with my 16 year old neice and 12 and 10 year old, we all enjoyed the visit and being able to hold the birds during the display. They weren't able to do a full display but we still got to see 5 different birds and the volunteers were very helpful and informative.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

On our way home visited the owl sanctuary just before it closed. A very helpful guy who looks after the maintainance of the site showed us round. He took the time to show us a lot of the birds and was very knowledgeable. The weather turned awful as the heavens opened and he gave us umbrellas and coats. We were very impressed with how helpful he was considering the weather and the fact he was closing for the day. Thank you we will definitely be back earlier one day to see the flying displays.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

It was an amazing experience to see birds that I had never seen before. The bird flights were amazing and we got some brilliant photos. Andy was one of the keepers and he was informative, funny and enjoyed having people ask questions. He seemed to know lots about the birds and told interesting stories about them. Would definitely recommend going.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Josh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited the sanctuary on Easter Sunday. Straight away was met by a very welcoming young man who engaged with my young five year old son brilliantly. All the birds where in excellent condition and there was plenty of different types of owls. The show was brilliant and the handlers try and get everyone involved by letting the birds fly to them my little lad was over the moon. Thanks will defiantly be returning an will be booking the flying experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jayohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews