We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch”

The Malt Shovel at Barston
Ranked #16 of 347 Restaurants in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 67 - USD 67
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch and it was nice. The food was really good and the setting pleasant. The service was pretty good and the prices what you would expect for a gastro pub.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank JetSetterJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2018

After reading mainly positive reviews about The Malt Shovel, we decided to book a table for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We sat at a table on the covered terrace looking out onto the field which was part of the seating area. The menu was quite varied but we opted for roasts served with vegetables. My pork was strangely dark for that meat and certainly not freshly carved but it tasted ok. It was served with a dollop of stewed apple and stuffing. The roast chicken was a whole breast and both dishes had ample dark gravy poured over them, more suitable for roast beef. The vegetables were an indifferent mixture served in a deep bowl. We had expected food of a higher standard and were not impressed. Would also suggest that the barman could do with some instruction regarding a "large" glass of wine ! I realised when my wine came that it was 175ml instead of 250ml but decided not to mention it to the waitress. When we looked at the receipt though, we had been charged £7.40 for it - annoying !
The best part of the meal was the sticky toffee pudding with banana ice cream and a toffee sauce. That was delicious.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant food, the service could have been a little more attentive, although not enough to not give this restaurant 5 stars. Would definitely visit again!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank mikegI214WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Recommended by a friend and visited for the first time this evening. We called to reserve a table as we were informed they get busy, they said they were pretty much fully booked but could fit us in between 6.30pm & 8.30pm.
I am so glad they could fit us in as my wife and I both had a very enjoyable meal. The restaurant is nicely decorated and very friendly pleasant staff are quick and efficient.
My wife, being gluten free, usually struggles with menus with little choice, and although they have a selection of gluten free foods, my wife fancied a dish that wasn't and upon a simple request to remove something they modified a dish that wasn't gluten free. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff there and they food arrived quick and well presented.
We looked at the dessert menu which had an interesting selection, and had difficulty deciding as they all looked fantastic. I can highly recommend the apricot brioche and butter pudding.
Nice building, nice decor, great staff and great food,
All in all a very enjoyable visit to a great restaurant, give it a go, you will be as impressed as we were.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sidibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Once again the meal was absolutely fantastic. Compliments to the chef and his team. Best sticky toffee pudding ever!
Always feel welcomed and relaxed.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SarahBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Malt Shovel at Barston also viewed

 
Balsall Common, Solihull
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to The Malt Shovel at Barston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing