We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

The Royal Hop Pole
Ranked #21 of 80 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

I was expecting it to be busy as this was the weekend for Tewkesbury medieval Festival, but we met up with friends on the Friday night in town. Drinks were good as they had an excellent choice in real cider and local ales, however food was nothing special and chips arrived cold. One friend ordered surf n turf and the scampi arrived in a separate bowl five mins before the rest of the meal so was cold by the time the turf part arrived. Five bean chilli was obviously microwaved but still pleasant enough. Others had no problems. Pizzas were ok. Unfortunately two friends could not join us this year as weatherspoons no longer allow dogs in the beer garden. So I don’t think I’ll be using you again. You do however allow feral children who are noisy and very smelly smokers. Which is unpleasant when your trying to enjoy a meal together. The dog would have been much pleasant company.

1  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you had issues regarding your meals with us over the medieval festival weekend - we will feed this information back to the team. Should anything like this happen again, please speak to the manager on duty who would be happy to rectify this for you. Unfortunately we do not allow dogs in the pub/hotel or garden, however we are a family pub and so do welcome children, and we do not discriminate against smokers or non smokers - but we do have the option of picking a smoking or non smoking area depending on your preference. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Called in for lunch on Friday, sat outside in the sun and used the “app” to order ! Lovely rear beer garden with mature shrubs, very quick service by pleasant staff and the fish & chips was one of the best we’ve had, a large piece of fresh cod in a delightful light batter accompanied with decent chips & peas, I went for the curry sauce which was excellent too ! This Weatherspoons obviously has someone running the kitchen who knows what they’re doing ! As I said, Fantastic food and brilliant value for money

Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your fish and chips with us - possibly the best you've had - we will pass on your kind comments to the kitchen team. It is great to know that the 'app' allowed you to enjoy the sunshine without having to visit the bar to order. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

What a lovely, quirky building! Full of history. My friend and I stayed here just for one night last weekend in a twin room, overlooking the main road. What a treat - an amazing room, nice and spacious, very comfy beds. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely Receptionist (we asked for extra tea bags and milk). Our food was also excellent, both the breakfast and evening meal.
The car parking worked very well. We would certainly go back and stay again.
A very tiny gripe was that while eating there was a lot of cigarette smoke entering the main bar area, as all the outer doors were open (due to the heatwave). The smokers had gathered near the doorway and so the smoke was pouring into the bar area. Not pleasant, and I think there should be a sign asking smokers to move away from the area, and that staff should check.
The outside area is split between a "smokers" area and a "non Smokers" area, which is a great idea, but there isn't enough space separating the two areas. We walked from the car park into the bar and had to walk past the smokers area which is nearer to the bar entrance. I think these two areas should be swapped over, so that non smokers don't have to "run the gauntlet" of the smokers to get into the building.
All in all - a wonderful stay and we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CASPER0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you also enjoyed excellent meals with us too. Thank you for your feedback regarding the smoking area, we will have a look into what can be done. It It's great to hear that you will return, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Had a nice sunny evening here on a Saturday.
This venue is huge with plenty of decent outside seating and for once well staffed with plenty of hands behind the bar and plenty on the shop floor clearing away..
we found staff very efficent and friendly with security patroling the gardens..
i would definatly have stayed the night given the option.

Thank Oakly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you found us to have a well staffed establishment, and that our team were efficient and friendly. Perhaps next time youre in the area you will give our hotel a try too! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

A lovely location and friendly staff excellent service, food in pub also very good would recommend to anyone

Thank Brenna46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review & for recommending us, we are please d that you enjoyed excellent service in our lovely location. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hop Pole also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing