We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most Wetherspoons”
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

The Royal Hop Pole
Ranked #21 of 80 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Had a nice sunny evening here on a Saturday.
This venue is huge with plenty of decent outside seating and for once well staffed with plenty of hands behind the bar and plenty on the shop floor clearing away..
we found staff very efficent and friendly with security patroling the gardens..
i would definatly have stayed the night given the option.

Thank Oakly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you found us to have a well staffed establishment, and that our team were efficient and friendly. Perhaps next time youre in the area you will give our hotel a try too! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

A lovely location and friendly staff excellent service, food in pub also very good would recommend to anyone

Thank Brenna46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review & for recommending us, we are please d that you enjoyed excellent service in our lovely location. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Ate here twice during out short stay in Tewksbury. It seems to be about half the price of most other restaurants in the area. The food was tasty and plenty and the drink were included in the price of the meal. About £16 for 2 people. We had the special on each occasion. Chicken on Wednesday and Fish and chips on Friday. Great for giving your wallet a rest and still enjoy a good meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 99JohnEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your meals with us, and that you found the food to be tasty and plentiful, and received quick and friendly service. We have rooms at The Royal Hop Pole too, so if you are ever staying in the area, why not give our hotel a try? We are pleased that your wallet enjoyed a rest when visiting us too! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We were staying at the Royal Hop Pole so decided to have four of our meals there. Weatherspoons breakfast is always good and my wife had an excellent Eggs Benedict with the eggs poached to perfection. The varied and economic menu was a welcome sight and our choices were provided quickly, efficiently and didn't disappoint.

Thank POSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your 4 meals with us during your stay in our hotel. We are pleased that the breakfasts were cooked to perfection - we will pass on your kind comments to the kitchen team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Another Wetherspoon pub serving the standard pub food. Nothing special just reliable, and very helpful staff.

Thank Bidds749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that we met your expectations of a Wetherspoon pub, and found that the staff were very helpful too. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hop Pole also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing