We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Cheap Drinks and Quick Friendly Service”
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

The Royal Hop Pole
Ranked #21 of 80 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Ate here twice during out short stay in Tewksbury. It seems to be about half the price of most other restaurants in the area. The food was tasty and plenty and the drink were included in the price of the meal. About £16 for 2 people. We had the special on each occasion. Chicken on Wednesday and Fish and chips on Friday. Great for giving your wallet a rest and still enjoy a good meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 99JohnEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your meals with us, and that you found the food to be tasty and plentiful, and received quick and friendly service. We have rooms at The Royal Hop Pole too, so if you are ever staying in the area, why not give our hotel a try? We are pleased that your wallet enjoyed a rest when visiting us too! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

We were staying at the Royal Hop Pole so decided to have four of our meals there. Weatherspoons breakfast is always good and my wife had an excellent Eggs Benedict with the eggs poached to perfection. The varied and economic menu was a welcome sight and our choices were provided quickly, efficiently and didn't disappoint.

Thank POSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your 4 meals with us during your stay in our hotel. We are pleased that the breakfasts were cooked to perfection - we will pass on your kind comments to the kitchen team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Another Wetherspoon pub serving the standard pub food. Nothing special just reliable, and very helpful staff.

Thank Bidds749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that we met your expectations of a Wetherspoon pub, and found that the staff were very helpful too. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

The Royal Hoppole do not permit dogs. We had found a table and ordered our food and drink when a waitress told us that dogs are not allowed in their garden. Dog friendly places to eat and drink that we know are. : The Berkeley Arms. The Bell. The Nottingham Arms The Brittania. The Theoc. We were made very welcome at all of these establishments. There might be more.

1  Thank elizabeth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018


Dear Customer. Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we do not allow dogs in the hotel, pub or the garden here at the Royal Hop Pole. This is clearly stated on signs when entering the garden. We are sorry to see that you rated us 1* based on this. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Pub always busy but the service always excellent. Have eaten there several times, but I think my favorite is Breakfast to set us up for the day.

Thank trailers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. It is great to hear that despite finding the pub to be busy, you also find the service to be excellent too. We agree, the breakfasts certainly set you up for the day! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hop Pole also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing