We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast & Quick meals”
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

The Royal Hop Pole
Ranked #21 of 80 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Pub always busy but the service always excellent. Have eaten there several times, but I think my favorite is Breakfast to set us up for the day.

Thank trailers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. It is great to hear that despite finding the pub to be busy, you also find the service to be excellent too. We agree, the breakfasts certainly set you up for the day! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

It’s a Wetherspoons. The interior is clean and tidy and the staff are pleasant and efficient. The beer garden ( huge!) backs on to the river. It’s probably one of the best pubs and locations in Tewkesbury. The food- I had steak was good and service quick despite being very busy. Nothing not to like, happy days and good value for money.

Thank 538harryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know that you found the pub to be clean and tidy, and the staff were pleasant and efficient. It is good to see that despite being busy, the quality of your steak and speed of service were also not compromised. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

This is not the first Wetherspoon’s hotel we have stayed in but it is the nicest. Lovely building and decor and the reception staff were so polite and pleasant. We ate here several times due to sheer convenience and the food, bar service and general ambience was very good. I was indisposed for part of our trip, but the size of the room meant that I wasn’t just confined to bed.

Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the team to be polite and pleasant too. We are sorry to hear that you were unwell during your stay, but glad that you weren't just confined to the bed as the rooms was spacious enough for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Myself and a friend went to this restaurant for a nice catch up and done good food which is usually served. We ordered at the bar and 15 minutes later my friends meal came out and the wrong meal came out for me. I told the waitress that it was the wrong meal and she took it back and said it would be about 5 minutes. 15 minutes later still no sign of my food and we were surrounded by waitresses that had the attitude of a 6 year old who had just been told that they couldn’t have any sweets.. despite feeling uncomfortable and another 10 minutes later still not receiving my meal I decided to check up on it by a waitress passing by and the only response I got was a horrible look and a grunt. I finally got my meal (40 minutes after my friend) which was stone cold and looked like it had been chewed up and spat back out, the meat was chewy and tough and I refused to eat it So 40 minutes after my friends meal had come out I went up to the bar and asked for a refund which they kindly gave to me for both meals as the other meal had gone cold because she didn’t want to eat with out me. I work in retail also and If I ever gave service like we received I would be appalled with myself. Will not be returning.

1  Thank jenna547165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us. We would appreciate it if you could contact the pub regarding you visit with times/dates, so that we can investigate your complaint fully. Our contact number is 01684 274 039 or please email p3484@jdwetherspoon.co.uk. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

I was visiting Tewkesbury recently and I called in for a bite to eat while I was waiting for the coach to pick us up, what a wonderful surprise, it is a beautiful hotel/pub I ordered a beefburger and a pint, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, I paid and I sat outside in the sunshine, it was only a few minutes when I received my lunch, it was very nice and tasty and the beer was super.
many thanks to the staff I hope to see you again when I next visit your beautiful town.
Mr.D.C.Williams.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank diandave131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and found that everything was as it should be. We are lucky to be housed in a historic coaching inn full of character with a large riverside garden to enjoy the sunshine in. It is good to know that you found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful too, we will pass on your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Tewkesbury. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hop Pole also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing