We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
579
415
67
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
415
67
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe riverbeer gardentypical wetherspoonswetherspoon hotelshistoric buildinglovely gardenbottled waterexcellent valuenooks and cranniescentral locationcar parkcentre of townsingle roomlovely old buildingiron and ironing boardsunday night
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Our room was 201. The best room in the hotel. A view to die for!!!! Looking out on to the pub garden river fields to the Malverns. It was beautiful. Massive bathroom. Lovely comfortable bed and chairs with a small table in front of the window. Very welcoming staff. It is a difficult place to get a car parking space though. Have to watch and wait for someone to vacate a space. It is free though if you get a space and at check in you will receive a piece of paper stating you are staying at the Royal Hop Pole which allows you non payment for your stay. The pub closes at 11 p.m. but you can access the entrance with your key card to your room and go through the reception area via a room to your left as you go in. We had breakfast here which was a bargain price. Under £6 for scrambled 3 eggs on two pieces of toast . A bacon roll and 2 Latte coffees. from the entrance you are in the town area which is small but packed with restaurants and pubs. The Roses Theatre is a short walk to your left.

Room Tip: If you are fully mobile room 201 every time!!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vjs957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us in room 201. It does have the best view in the hotel and is probably our most requested room. It is great to know that the staff were welcoming, and that you enjoyed a good value breakfast too. The car park can get busy at times as it is a pay and display to those who aren't resident in the hotel. We often find that it turns over quickly and doesn't take long to get a space at busy periods. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had a quiet room at the back of the Hotel which was perfect with views over the rivers and the hills in the distance. Most enjoyable. Location is perfect for the historical town and Abbey. The Hotel its self has plenty of history. Beer, as at all Weatherspoons, was brilliant. Breakfasts were excellent and served up to 12 each day, very civilised!
If I was going to be very picky I would have to say I prefer a firmer bed, and the teaspoons in our room were not clean. We did bring our own pillows, kettle and a spoon, so no harm done! Also not able to get a pot of tea at breakfast just a mug.

Room Tip: have a quiet room at the back as busy road at the front.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your tea spoons weren't clean, we will feed that back to our housekeeping team. However it is great to hear that you found your room to be perfect and enjoyed the view too. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

One night stay with a dinner and breakfast in the bar. The hotel offers room only due to the extensive choices in the menu for both dinner and breakfast. The room we had was very comfortable, clean with a modern bath/ shower. All comforts tea coffee making, two small bottles water sparkling and still, biscuits, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Obviously cannot vouch for other rooms but ours was great value for the nightly rate. The staff in reception, bar and waiting staff were friendly and attentive despite the fact that this venue became very busy. Well done Wetherspoon and the staff of the Royal Hop Pole. Located central Tewksbury within close access of the Abbey and gardens. River Severn and River Avon. Would not hesitate to return. I wonder if all Wetherspoon Hotels are the good for a value stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ians2ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for you review. We are so pleased to hear that you have no complaints, and that your stay was a comfortable one offering great value. It is lovely to hear you mentioning our team - we can get very busy at times, so it is great to hear that the level of service our customers receive does not falter at busy times. We will pass your kind comments on to all. We are pleased that you wouldn't hesitate to return, and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

The hotel is on the main street so is central. I was a little concerned at staying at a Wetherspoons but i need not have worried. The building is an old coaching inn (mentioned in The Pickwick Papers) with beams and wonky floor boards and so much charm. We had a very large en-suite family room. This overlooks the main road but we had no problem with noise. There is a free car park adjacent to the hotel just ask for a parking permit. The reception staff were very helpful. It was useful to have the pub downstairs which made good use of its unique setting with a medieval dining area and a Georgian dining room. We were able to eat breakfast and a couple of evening meals or have a drink downstairs. Wetherspoons cheap and cheerful and good value menu i must give the pizzas a special mention they were very good. Then we could take drinks back to our room. I would recommend this for families (some of the main bar area best avoided at night with young children but the pub is large and has pleasant areas) this was great value for money a lovely historic hotel and had great staff. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeebeeLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you needn't have been worried about staying in our hotel. It is also great that you mention the Pizza - we are on the 'Pizza trial' for Wetherspoon, and it seems to be going down a treat with our guests and customers alike. We are glad that you found your room to be as it should be, and even though it was located on the front, that noise wasn't an issue. Thanks for recommending us highly, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

A well run, friendly place where nothing was too much trouble. Our room was at the front (above the Main St) so a little noisy at night. As always Wetherspoons can't be beaten for price and quality of food.
Limited parking ..but there was space for us each night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank jw2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be friendly and well run where nothing is too much trouble - exactly how it should be. Some of our rooms are road facing, and although we do have secondary glazing, there can be road noise at busy times. Some of our rooms do overlook the garden and can be quieter. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews