We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
581
417
68
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
417
68
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub the river beer garden typical wetherspoons wetherspoon hotels historic building lovely garden bottled water excellent value nooks and crannies central location centre of town car park single room lovely old building iron and ironing board sunday night
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Well located hotel in the town. It has easy access to the garden from it's own car park, which is free, just check in and request a parking voucher. Good spacious rooms and of course the pub. Don't forget to visit the market for good old fashioned gems

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your return visit, and found our rooms to be good & spacious. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This hotel is a fantastic place for a relaxing break. Set in the heart of Tewkesbury it is packed with all the quirky charm that all buildings of this age hold. Sloping floors and low oak beams abound and it has fantastic character and oozes history from every pore. Coupled to the great value and variety of any Wetherspoons environment and it really makes for a relaxing and economic break. We have already booked our next trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Shaunbhoy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have already booked your next trip! It is nice to know you appreciated the history of our iconic building and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The food is of a good quality and price. It is just an easy place to eat. There are tables outside in the garden, which goes down to the river. Service is basic, and short. There is a payable car park near the rear of the pub.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you found the food to be good quality and good value, and that you found us an easy place to eat at. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Stayed at the Royal Hop Pole on route to Devon.Everything was excellent. Room was massive and very comfortable. Bathroom very good although had either of us been taller the sower would have been a struggle due to the low ceiling. The pub itself was busy but food was good and the staff very pleasant. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank judith_thompson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that you would definitely return to stay with us again. We are pleased that you found the staff to be very pleasant, and the food to be good too. Some of our rooms have lower ceilings than others due to the nature of the building, but if you request a room in the Georgian side of the building the ceilings tend to be much higher. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Just stayed overnight for the first time , although have used the bar on a few occasions .
We were greeted at reception by Ash , who was charming and polite . He explained how they operated and informed us we had a lovely room . He was right ! The building is very old and in Tudor style and is now owned by J D Wetherspoon . They have kept everything in the style it was created but brought it up to date . The room was beautiful , very roomy and spotlessly clean , creaky uneven floor and lots of beams ! We went down to the bar and had some excellent local real ale and a very good meal served by friendly and polite staff . We would recommend The Royal Hop Pole highly and cannot wait to return . Well done everyone . Chris and Pauline Franks

Room Tip: We had room 206 , on top floor , couldnt fault it !
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Chris & Pauline, Thank you for much for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you had a charming and polite welcome from Ash on Reception, and that you enjoyed your room too. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our selection of real ales and a good meal served by polite and friendly staff. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews