We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like ?”
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hop Pole
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017

A well run, friendly place where nothing was too much trouble. Our room was at the front (above the Main St) so a little noisy at night. As always Wetherspoons can't be beaten for price and quality of food.
Limited parking ..but there was space for us each night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank jw2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be friendly and well run where nothing is too much trouble - exactly how it should be. Some of our rooms are road facing, and although we do have secondary glazing, there can be road noise at busy times. Some of our rooms do overlook the garden and can be quieter. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

Well located hotel in the town. It has easy access to the garden from it's own car park, which is free, just check in and request a parking voucher. Good spacious rooms and of course the pub. Don't forget to visit the market for good old fashioned gems

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your return visit, and found our rooms to be good & spacious. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This hotel is a fantastic place for a relaxing break. Set in the heart of Tewkesbury it is packed with all the quirky charm that all buildings of this age hold. Sloping floors and low oak beams abound and it has fantastic character and oozes history from every pore. Coupled to the great value and variety of any Wetherspoons environment and it really makes for a relaxing and economic break. We have already booked our next trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Shaunbhoy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have already booked your next trip! It is nice to know you appreciated the history of our iconic building and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The food is of a good quality and price. It is just an easy place to eat. There are tables outside in the garden, which goes down to the river. Service is basic, and short. There is a payable car park near the rear of the pub.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you found the food to be good quality and good value, and that you found us an easy place to eat at. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Stayed at the Royal Hop Pole on route to Devon.Everything was excellent. Room was massive and very comfortable. Bathroom very good although had either of us been taller the sower would have been a struggle due to the low ceiling. The pub itself was busy but food was good and the staff very pleasant. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank judith_thompson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that you would definitely return to stay with us again. We are pleased that you found the staff to be very pleasant, and the food to be good too. Some of our rooms have lower ceilings than others due to the nature of the building, but if you request a room in the Georgian side of the building the ceilings tend to be much higher. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.4 km away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
557 reviews
3.9 km away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.6 km away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
11.5 km away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
11.9 km away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hop Pole

Address: 94 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range: $67 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hop Pole 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well-known landmark is an amalgamation of historic buildings dating from the 15th and 18th centuries, known as a number of names, including The Crown during King Henry VIII's reign. However, eventually it was named The Royal Hop Pole when Queen Mary stayed in 1937 and gave it the official 'Royal.' Charles Dickens even mentions The Royal Hop Pole in his first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Other interesting information and pictures are located all over the hotel, including information on how the Medieval Banqueting Hall was discovered when the hotel was recently refurbished. The Royal Hop Pole has its own beautiful garden which leads to the banks of The River; there you can see picturesque views of the surrounding countryside and the Malverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hop Pole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hop Pole Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing