We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
50
75
99
65
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
75
99
65
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhitebaitafternoon teasconesstay at this hotel againour room was spaciousgrouponkent
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Larkfield as we were attending a wedding at Neddlested place, I have to say it made a change from the normal premier inn/travelodge. The hotel has a quirky element to it, the staff was more than accommodating but be aware there is no lift and we were on the 2nd floor with suit area to carry, it was no problem for them to move us to the ground floor. Our room was spacious and clean, breakfast was very nice.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank jill532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, unfortunately not booked by myself. Very dated room, stunk of smoke. View through thick cob webs of fag butts on conservatory roof from peeling rotten windows.
Very small double bed. Did not sleep well as each night at 1.am until 1.30 am strange loud noises of dragging furniture across a wooden floor. Couldn’t work out why who or where this was coming from but incredibly creepy!! Then found out hotel is apparently haunted!!?
Breakfast in morning cold & basic. Coffee & tea disgusting! Just got coloured water.
On the more positive, lovely grounds & lounge area pleasant just shame about rest of hotel. Reception & bar staff pleasant.
This hotel could be amazing if the rooms were totally refurbished. What a waste of a beautiful old building!
Would not recommend or ever stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ange Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Clean rooms, decent food. Ideal cheap contractor base for the local area. Walking distance if a few good pubs. Staff attentive and very very polite. I would recommend to anyone looking for good honest basic accommodation.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank sifowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We had booked a two night stay in the hotel and departed after one night. The restaurant tables were sticky at dinner and breakfast (disgusting). The service was mediocre with the food and beverage assistant not listening at all and getting my order wrong 3 times! I was served flat beer and the bread basket was cremated.

The room was basic, the toilet seat broken, the bed horrendously lumpy and uncomfortable and to top it all there was building works at 7am in the site next door.

The breakfast was cold and had been left standing for sometime.

We asked to speak to the manager for a refund on the night we weren’t staying (we didn’t dispute the night we stayed or the food bill as we just wanted to leave) and was told the manager wasn’t available but would call us.

We are still waiting for that call - disgusting treatment!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Henniker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, the room was ok and the receptionist was polite but the service in the bar and at breakfast was appalling. The staff at the bar on the Saturday evening were rude and dismissive, we tried to book a table for the advertised Sunday carvery only to be told it “was off”. We were woken at 2:45 AM by the hotel fire alarm going off for no apparent reason. Arriving for breakfast on the Sunday morning we found filthy tables, no staff and most of the food and drinks had run out. Eventually a member of staff turned up and completely ignored us, she wouldn’t even make eye contact with the guests! We had to go and find another staff member in the lounge to get a table cleared and then waited half an hour for food and drinks on the buffet table to be restocked. Rubbish in the common areas of the hotel was left uncleared throughout our 2 night stay. Even asking for a Do Not Disturb sign, as there was none in the room, required a long wait and several rings of the reception bell before finding a member of the bar staff to help us. The whole hotel seemed understaffed and unable to cope with the number of guests. Very disappointing stay, the hotel has some good points such as the nice rooms, lounge and garden but due to the bad customer service we would not want to return.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L_J_Roberts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews