We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 17 Crawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“value for money B&B”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here one night before our morning Gatwick flight. This is the first time we have stayed overnight before a flight and found this B&B after reading the reviews. Check in was quick and easy, the bedroom was clean and adequate for the time you will spend in it, the bathroom was very nice with a lovely shower, the corridors/staircase are a little narrow as it is an older country house so for the less mobile a room by reception on the ground floor may be better. The breakfast was very satisfactory. Although the location is down a quiet country lane it is only a 10 minute drive to the airport. The taxi service offered with the overnight stay package was efficient and worked very well with no hassles. The taxi arrived to pick us up on time, and even sent a text to confirm the taxi had arrived with the cars number plate so you got into the right taxi. The only downside is your car keys are left with reception and moved to their sister hotel about a mile down the road which my husband is never keen on doing, but there were no problems as your return taxi drops you back there to collect your car. After our first experience, we would definately stay here again if the case arises.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ang12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    130
    44
    25
    22
See reviews for
47
369
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This B&B works because the whole package is excellent value. The rooms are of B&B standard, clean and perfectly adequate, as is the breakfast. Taxi arrangements also worked well. The building had a lot of narrow corridors and stairs with well worn carpets.

The staff were curteous and helpful.

A clean bed, convenience and cheap parking - what more could you want.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choosyhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I cannot understand why so many people are positive about this hotel. We found it a disappointment. It is a long way from anywhere, and having come by coach to Gatwick and then a taxi, we did not want to take another taxi to a restaurant, so we picnicked in the room. The sound on the TV in the room was very poor, and we eventually vacated to the sitting room where there was a better TV. The bed was large and reasonably comfortable, but the bedroom decor was rather dark and depressing, and the room was chilly. After a long journey we were delighted to see there was a bath, not being keen on showers - but there was no bath plug. Fortunately we had one with us, and my husband undressed and got in the bath. On attempting to turn on the taps he found that they were not connected at all! There was a shower over the bath, but we felt that at least the owner should put up a notice apologising for the lack of water for the bath - or remove the bath and put in a proper shower. We had to leave at 6.30 am for Gatwick, and found a very poor breakfast was provided for us. There was cereal and toast and very small packets of jam, no protein (cheese or cold meat) or fruit. It was without exception one of the worst breakfasts ever.
Perhaps the most upsetting aspect of all this was what happened when we paid for the overnight stay on arrival. We were charged £92 - this did not include taxi fares which we paid ourselves. After we had gone to our room I thought this seemed a very high price, and not what I had expected. The original plan was to leave the car at the hotel, but I had notified the owner that we had decided to travel by coach - so the charge for parking should have been deducted from the bill. I approached the receptionist (not the owner) who was unable to tell us how much of this £92 was for the parking. She could not contact anyone, and so I had to wait until our return home several weeks later before getting a refund of £23. It gave an impression of incompetence and muddle. We shall not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crumblybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Have used this hotel 3 times the rooms are quiet cosy and comfortable.The staff are helpfull and breakfast very good.I will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMOTHY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived later than 10pm due to traffic, but the girl on reception stayed on to greet us which was very kind of her. The instructions were clear as to the procedure for the following morning. The room was spotless, quiet, warm and very comfortable, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The taxi arrived promptly and took us to the airport in 10 mins or so, the driver explained clearly what we should do on our return. 6 weeks later we returned, the car had been moved to the sister hotel\'s car park (we had been advised of this) and the taxi took us straight there. I had left a pair of earrings in the room and the staff had found them, and put them in an envelope in the car for me. \r\nAll in all a very satisfactory experience, and I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
4.8 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
7.3 km away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.6 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Sofitel London Gatwick
4.8 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
5.3 km away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhall Country House, Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhall Country House, Gatwick

Property: Waterhall Country House, Gatwick
Address: Prestwood Lane | Ifield Wood, Crawley RH11 0LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Crawley
Price range (per night): $116 - $168
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhall Country House, Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhall Country House is a delightful guest house offering hotel comfort at B&B prices. Situated close to London Gatwick Airport (LGW), we are perfectly positioned for both airport bound travellers or Crawley based business people. Our unique 34 acre setting, homely atmosphere and comfortable rooms will ensure that you are not disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhall Country House, Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing