We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Badly in need of an upgrade” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Badly in need of an upgrade”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I completely agree with previous reviews. This hotel is badly in need an upgrade. Considering it is a 4 star hotel, it was more like a 2 star. Old wall paper, tired beds, showers were very limited. I also went to the wrong Copthorne hotel which is frustrating when you have parked, got all the luggage out and walked in to be told there is another one at the next roundabout! So be aware that you check if you are staying at the Copthorne Gatwick or the Copthorne Effingham, Gatwick.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liketravelling37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with your stay with regard to the standard of accommodation provided. Please be assured the hotel was assessed by the AA in the summer of last year and re-awarded our 4 star rating. We are, however, aware that some of our rooms are in need of updating and wish to assure you this matter is being addressed.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused when you initially went to the Copthorne London Gatwick, unfortunately, for those guests who are unfamiliar with the area, the Copthorne London Gatwick is the first hotel you come to when you leave the M23 motorway, so some people see the name COPTHORNE and instinctively turn into the hotel. We are very sorry you had this extra trouble.

Thank you for pointing this out for the benefit of other travellers.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    355
    346
    253
    212
See reviews for
199
640
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blakeney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is slightly shabby, but great value. The foyer was chilly, and as the bar and restaurant led off the foyer, they were both cold, but it was very cold weather. The rooms stayed warm. The staff were really lovely, always helpful and pleasant. The rooms were good sized, with plenty of work space, and good bathroom with bath and shower.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redcampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We were very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation and facilities provided to be satisfactory and good value. We very much hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at the Copthorne for one night to connect to a flight at Gatwick. First, the private car service "Green Tomato" that I used from Heathrow was given the hotel information. The driver saw the Copthone Hotel Sign and dropped me at another Copthorne Hotel in the same area even though I had provided, the web link info and address to the hotel. The service charge me another 15 pounds for the driver to return..poor. The hotel itself offered a superior room upgrade for 25 pounds, but the lighting in the room was poor, the room very drafty, and cold and not enough light in the bathroom to shave. It had major stains on the tables and the couch and carpet was dirty. It badly needs some work...fish and chips I ate for dinner was good in the Sports Bar. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inspec180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We are very sorry our accommodation did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been passed on to our management team for review as well as our Head Housekeeper. We have noted you found the lighting in your room insufficient - we have asked our Chief Engineer to check on this with regard to the strength of the light bulbs. We are also very sorry you suffered inconvenience with regard to your taxi journey, I realise this was not a good start to your stay.
Thank you once again for your constructive and informative comments.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crawley hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Having been sold an upgrade to a Club Room by a friendly and charming receptionist, one might have expected something better than the average.
Unfortunately the carpet was well worn, and also torn, dangerously so for the elderly,a child or anyone in heels. This was not newly torn but obviously cleaners, previous guests or managegement did not consider this a problem.
The breakfast was of a poor standard too. There was no one to seat guests but staff could be heard in the kitchen talking, the plates were cold and the scrambled egg looked undesireable. Upon asking for an omelette from a menu which stated eggs cooked to your requirement we were told that would be over 5 pounds extra because the chef said so! The hot food containers were almost empty and had been there a considerable time when we choose our food. Then a kitchen staff member brought out fresh food and put it on top of the old food. Service was perfunctory.
Generally a beautiful setting but the pool was out of order, decor and rooms are tired and some staff members let the others down with poor service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roggiesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have asked our Head Housekeeper to check on the carpets in all Club rooms, as described by yourself. We are also investigating your comments regarding the quality of food and service at breakfast, please accept our sincere apologies.
May we thank you once again for providing honest feedback on your stay for future travellers and guests.
Please be assued your comments have been taken very serioulsy and are being actioned by ourselves.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Have stayed at the copthorne twice now and we are booking again next month. We usually upgrade for £20 just because of the giant beds! the public areas are attractive, maybe a little dated but clean and comfortable.
We usually have dinner in the hotel restaurant and it has been delicious both times! good quality wines available and friendly helpful staff.
Gorgeous grounds and great for access to the airport with a shuttle bus every hour.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem071985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so pleased to read your comments and that you enjoy the hotel and surroundings as well as the food and service provided in our Terrace Restaurant. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
2.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
3.3 km away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.5 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
7.2 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price range (per night): $77 - $173
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing