We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good room, food excellent and well worth the money”
Review of The Ugly Duckling

The Ugly Duckling
Ranked #20 of 322 Restaurants in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 17 - USD 35
Description: Our Chefs grill over charcoal and wood on our custom built grills throughout the year, in winter we will also brine, cure, smoke and braise. In the summer you might even catch our chefs cooking outside! Our aim is to provide a casual and informal space for our customers. The food style is strong & bold. The service professional yet approachable.
Restaurant details
Description: Our Chefs grill over charcoal and wood on our custom built grills throughout the year, in winter we will also brine, cure, smoke and braise. In the summer you might even catch our chefs cooking outside! Our aim is to provide a casual and informal space for our customers. The food style is strong & bold. The service professional yet approachable.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The overnight stay was really good, bed was comfortable and the TV in the room even had Netflix which was a nice touch! Food in the evening was really good value for money and the choice was excellent, all food tasted really really good!!

Breakfast the next day was again really good and tasty and definitely filled you up.

Only slight negatives, hence only 4 stars, were that our bathroom smelt really badly of stagnant water! I think possibly some sort of drainage issue. When bathroom door was shut the room didn't smell, but going into the bathroom was actually quite bad, I used the pub facilities when needed!

Overall didn't really affect our stay, but couldn't give 5 stars based on this. Would definitely recommend and I would stay again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Damo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are thoroughly pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ugly Duckling. We appreciate the good feedback and we hope to see you again soon, we like to ensure all of our guests get the 'wow' factor when they stay with us. We apologise that the bathroom gave out a bad smell and we will rectify this issue straight away, we are happy this did not affect your stay with us.


Many Thanks
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Only called in for a drink on passing, however seeing some food coming out of the kitchen, I decided to go for the fish and chips and pea puree.

At £12.95 meal was good and served in a timely manner. Service was good and the establishment is nice.

I would recommend a visit.

1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank You for your kind and positive feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your fish and chips and we are happy our fresh food made you fancy eating with us! Hopefully see you again soon.

Many Thanks.

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The interior of the building is lovely although the food and service was very average which really lets the place down which is a shame, it has the potential to be so much better. I won't be rushing back or recommending it to friends or family. It is probably a better place just to have a drink rather than a bite to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LCPainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

We are sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience with us, we like to ensure that we deliver the best quality food and service. We are surprised you did not find 'The Ugly Duckling' very good. However thank you for your personal preference.

Many Thanks.

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This pub/restaurant oozes charm & delivers excellent meals every time. The menu has some great choices, both for lunch & dinner, and the well~stocked bar has a superb range of wines & spirits. Coupled with efficient & friendly staff, it’s the perfect location for a cosy couples meal or meetings with friends.

Thank Amy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

We appreciate your lovely comments overall and we are pleased you enjoyed our wide range of wines and spirits - There is a lot to choose from! We hope to see you again soon.


Many Thanks

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

I can reccomen the ugly duckling it is very nice also they don't keep coming up and asking if your alright

Thank Deena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank You for leaving us a positive review and we are happy you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.



Many Thanks.

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ugly Duckling also viewed

 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to The Ugly Duckling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing