We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of The Stanage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stanage
Ranked #2 of 28 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We were made to feel very welcome the bedroom was first class and very quite even through the house is on a main road, bed very comfortable, breakfast was first class nothing was too much trouble. Hazel is very friendly and full of information. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B & B to everyone, we will be back. Many thanks for starting our holiday off to a good start.

Margaret & Fred

Room Tip: We had room 1 which had lovley views of the garde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAGSSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you for leaving a review and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good start to your holiday in Wales.Hope you got the wool and buttons in at Ippikins in Much Wenlock.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 291 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have particular dietary requirements; Hazel (the host) went to some lengths to make sure I had a great choice of things to eat. In some large chain hotels I have had to make do with what was there, so the personal touch was appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFH078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are only too happy to cater for special diets and it was very good that we had prior warning. Thank you for letting us know.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The best B&B I've stayed in around the Telford area (and I've stayed in quite a few). The house and gardens have character and the rooms are very attractive - bright, relatively roomy and tastefully decorated (only 3 rooms). Breakfast is also very good with room overlooking the garden.

Hazel who runs the B&B is very helpful and friendly. Location is on the edge of Telford (about 2 miles from centre) and not far from Wrekin hill and Wellington.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJMcCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Stanage and we were really happy that you had a lovely stay with us. It makes our job all the more enjoyable when we have great guests and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I was delighted with my recent overnight at the Stanage. A real find! The breakfast bacon was to die for and the marmalade was so good I bought a jar to take away. Everything had been thought of. One of the best b&b ever visited. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Breakfast to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2011

Thank you for your kind words and we are also delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
I have passed on your comments regarding the bacon to the butcher, Ken Francis in Wellington, Shropshire, and he also was delighted.
Glad you enjoyed the marmalade and honey and hope to see you again sometime.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed at The Stanage in April and had the lovely room at the front with the King Size bed. I can honestly say it comes in my top three beds world wide for comfort. I slept like a log and awoke without the slightest twinge of back ache for the first time in years. Everywhere was spotless, all promised facilities were there including my vegan breakfast. Afternoon tea was a treat on arrival. Nothing was to much trouble to Hazel and Graham. The home made marmalade and honey purchased on departure were also excellent.

The only downside is the tiny bathroom with sloping roof but the cosy towelling robe provided meant a warm trip to the bathroom and shower a few steps down the hall of which that room has sole use.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2011

Very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and had such a good night's sleep. Providing a comfortable bed and a good breakfast is what our aim is.
So pleased to hear you managed with the bathroom and took advantage of the large one along the landing.
Looks like we will have to get cooking with more marmalade and get the bees buzzing to make some honey.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
3.6 km away
The Old Rectory of St James
3 km away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.8 km away
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wellington
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Hundred House Hotel
Hundred House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Norton
495 reviews
6.4 km away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanage

Address: The Stanage Dawley Road | Lawley Village, Telford TF4 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range: $108 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stanage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanage is a delightful Edwardian style house offering a warm welcome to both business and leisure guests. Secure off road parking, Free Wi-Fi, locally sourced breakfast, log fires in winter and clean, comfortable en-suite rooms. Close to Telford and The Ironbridge Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your The Stanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanage Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing