We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you are 5ft or under!”
Review of Goddard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goddard Arms
Ranked #19 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were shown to an attic room, up many flights of stairs and doors, with very low ceilings. The headroom in the bathroom was extremely low. If you were over 5ft 4" you would have to crouch down to have a shower. The room was incredibly stuffy. The double bed was two singles zipped together so had a dip in the middle. There were no bed side tables, so no where for a glass of water, clock etc. Breakfast was optional at £6.50 though they were advertising breakfast from £1.99 if you were a customer of the pub. However the central location for the bars in Old Town is ideal and it was only for one night so it was adequate.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the attic room if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Booked very last minuite with the offer of a £45 room on laterooms. Swift call to the hotel and got the same terms over the phone. Hotel had the slightly dowdy appearance of many such venues, and had the feel of needing a lick of paint in places. Once we'd got past the various methods of entry depending on the time of day, I was shown to a suprisingly well appointed room, albeit on a busy high st (pointed out by the staff) The ensuite bathrokm had a shower over bath, which imho was too dished, and the shower head too far away - looks like an accident waiting to happen. Didn't eat there but used the excellent old town location to sample the pleasant midweek nightlife of swindon, in this case a jazz trio in the old bank. Note, the location is nof so handy if you're walking from the train station. Slept like a baby on a supremely comfortable bed, woke up, predictably by traffic. Paid £6 for the breakfast which incuded an undercooked sausage, returned to me microwaved into oblivion... And it was going so well! - if you're caught out in Swindon and on a budget, you'll get a better deal here than the big chains, so may be worth a try.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_Alty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

had to stay over night in swindon and we really struck gold with this place, great staff and warm atmoshere in the pub downstairs, so much so we didn't bother to venture out.
rooms nice clean and warm
good breafast

would stay again!

Room Tip: all good , stayed in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee2806old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel must have been some sort of large coaching house in the past.

It is now a large busy pub with rooms to rent above. The room was perfectly fine and the service for reception was good. Service at breakfast was fine as was the breakfast.

I stayed for £50 - fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We wanted to go for a work lunch as one of our colleagues is getting married soon. As we are limited by time (and had an extremely bad experience with our Christmas Lunch at Longs) we were concerned that anywhere could actually ensure we had our meals on time.
We wanted somewhere with a good range of dishes (we are a fussy lot), close to work and at a reasonable price. After much perusal we decided on the Goddards, well known to us Swindonians in all of its previous guises. During initial enquiries we were assured our food would be on the table at 12.30hrs. There were 9 in our party. Our choices were emailed through in plenty of time and we duly arrived with our fingers crossed....
However, we need not have panicked. Our food was on the table as promised - and really tasty, well presented HOT food it was too. We all went silent as we tucked in - then pronounced it tasty and just the right portion size. It was so good we decided on dessert as well. Desserts are £1.50 for one portion, which is in a little ramekin but you can have 3 for £3.50. It was perfect for me - I hate huge puds which I cant eat, or if I do feel too full for the rest of the day and the 'bigger eaters just had 3 (or 4!). I had the Fish, chips 'n mushy peas followed by Chocolate Fudge Cake for the grand total of £8.25. Definitely good value for money. We all agreed that the food was really good and the service was excellent. the young man on duty was helpful, polite and smiley (makes a chnage from the miserable waiters you often encounter) and the waitress was attentive and polite. It's ahuge thumbs up for the Goddards from us - we are even thinking of returning for another 'team building lunch' very soon AND it will be top of our list for next Christmas. Thank You Goddards 10/10

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driftwood63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
10.9 km away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#24 of 25 in Swindon
150 reviews
12.1 km away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,039 reviews
11.2 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
0.0 km away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 1 in Ashbury
115 reviews
13.1 km away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Swindon

Been to Goddard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goddard Arms

Address: 1 High Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range: $91 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goddard Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Swindon's Old Town, The Goddard Arms in an old converted Coaching inn, with some great period features, history and character. There is a bar and restaurant serving food and drinks all day, as well as limited free parking. The hotel was refurbished in November 2016 giving all rooms a flat-screen TV, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms and the bar area. Children are welcome in the bar/restaurant areas until 7pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Goddard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing