We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch”

The Farmhouse at Mackworth
Ranked #61 of 653 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Steakhouse, British, Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Slightly slow service on arrival, which speeded up with a new barman later. The venue was busy. We ordered Roast veg and pepper sandwiches, with chips. Normal bar drinks. The food here is very good and this was one of the tasty I have had. Well presented, we sat outside, with lovely views of the gardens and countryside. Delightful, loads of space, tables and chairs. I guess it would be packed at weekends, we were their on Thursday. Loved it and will be back. Medium priced, but value for money.

Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Farmhouse at Mackworth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your honest review Chris.
We are so glad we managed to turn it around from the beginning for you. It's great to read that you enjoyed all of your food and found it to be value for money. Our outside area is such a beautiful space, we can't wait for the weather to pick up so that we can serve our menu outside.
We hope that you will be back sooner rather than later, perhaps this week with the current weather forecast we have.

Kind Regards
The Farmhouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Came here yet again on 31st March for my birthday with my family - great food, lovely staff especially our waiter Joe! Loved every second and will be back :)

Thank alh3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Farmhouse at Mackworth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Another returning customer happy! Thank you for leaving such great feedback, its always brilliant to hear that what we do at here at The Farmhouse is appreciated and enjoyed. Im sure Joe will be thrilled with his mention which will definitely be passed on.

Kind Regards,
The Farmhouse Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We visited The Farmhouse on Easter Sunday there were 6 of us altogether. We ordered 2 Camembert sharers to start one of which came out like liquid Joe changed it straight away for us so no problem there, however when our mains came out four of them were fine but the other two were steaks we asked for them to be medium, they first ones came out cold so they went back the second ones came out rare and again had to be returned. Joe our waiter was amazing he saw them and took them back straight away for us, I think you need a new steak chef. We will return again this is due to Joe's attentiveness, but we will not be ordering steaks.

Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Farmhouse at Mackworth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, of course all feedback is really important to us. Our apologies that some aspects of your expirience failed to live up to expectation. This is something that we will most definitely be looking into moving forward. Its brilliant to hear that Joe excelled in providing the service that we expect from our staff, your praise will be passed on, which we're sure he will be thrilled with.

Kind regards,
The Farmhouse Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Booked online, was surprised we managed to get a table seeing how busy it was when we arrived and it’s bank holiday weekend. Our table was ready and we were seen to our table by Ben who said he would also be serving us for the evening, service was consistent, friendly and professional which is was definitely refreshing from someone so young, usually you get people grunting and not engaging but Ben was fantastic. Food was excellent, complimentary prossecco with dessert which was perfect for me while my partner indulged in the giant profiterole ! Looking forward to returning! Great evening and service!

Thank LCFowkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Farmhouse at Mackworth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, Ben is one of our superstars and will be thrilled with this mention. We will definitely make sure it is passed on. We love to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience here with us and are very much looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,
The Farmhouse Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Popped in after a recommendation from a friend for a Sunday lunch. I always suffer as I have an allergy to dairy but our waiter Ben was fantastic in helping me select what to eat. They have a good selection of wines and my other half (who has no allergies!) enjoyed two starters and a pizza. Quite reasonably priced and a nice atmosphere.

Thank LER2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Farmhouse at Mackworth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. Its especially great to hear that you dined with us upon recommendation, we always make sure we have our allergen menus to hand to provide the best options for all our customers. Ben will be thrilled with his mention and we will defiantly make sure to pass this on.

Kind regards,
The Farmhouse Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farmhouse at Mackworth also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Farmhouse at Mackworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing