We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, Friendly and Amazing Breakfast!”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #1 of 24 Derby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 November 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at The Coach House earlier this month while visiting family in the area. We were greeted by the lovely Roberta - who immediately made us feel at home in our room. The room was simply fabulous - very modern, spacious, comfortable and stylish (and the bathroom was stocked with lovely toiletries). Breakfast the next morning was a real treat too - Roberta explained they source the food locally; everything was cooked perfectly and nothing was too much trouble for her - I genuinely wish we could have stayed longer. If you are passing through Derby or just looking for a peaceful escape - I can't recommend The Coach House highly enough!

Room Tip: The rooms in The Stables are lovely and set apart from the main house (about 10m away).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Ah thankyou Kirstin. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our new stables rooms. I hope your journey back down south wasn’t too bad and I hope you get chance to visit Derby again soon. It would be lovely to have you both to stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here overnight in October. Great welcome with amazing hosts. The rooms were boutique standards - comparable to any 5☆ hotel and the little snug is a great place to chill after a busy day. A hidden gem if you need to stay in Derby. Will definitely be back

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Hello there Nora. What a lovely review thankyou. It was lovely to meet you and I’m glad you had chance to enjoy our newly refurbished snug. I hope you will find an excuse to visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Stayed at the Coach House for a wedding at the West Mill in Derby which was located within walking distance. My boyfriend and I were made to feel very welcome. Decore of rooms to a very high standard and breakfast was delicious would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooaypooying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hello there. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were made to feel welcome. We try our best! I can’t deduce who has left this review from the TripAdvisor name (sadly). I’m normally good at sleuthing.... but thankyou anyway mystery guest and boyfriend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Everything is on point here. Newly refurbished rooms are beautiful! We stayed in room 6. The hosts are so pleasant and tentative. The breakfast is great. If we are in Derby again we will be staying here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello Stuart - thankyou that’s great to hear. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can find an excuse to come back and visit us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Fantastic night's stay in one of the beautiful newly refurbished bed rooms. We had a ground floor room which was ideal with our two dogs as it opened up on to the garden. Dog treats, dog bowl and dog towel were a really thoughtful touch! Loved the room's decor - the new owners have put a lot of thought in to every detail. Beautifully designed, good sized room with nice touches such as quality toiletries and fresh milk to go with hot drinks.

Full English breakfast reading the papers was a great start to our Sunday, followed by a walk around Darley Park. Its just two minutes away from The Coach House - the park was huge and our dogs loved it.

Brilliant location for walking in the Peak District too - Dovedale was only about 25 mins drive away.

All in all a fantastic night’s stay in a lovely room - thank you The Coach House - we will be back!

Room Tip: The newly rerbuished rooms are lovley - the ground floor room which opened on to the garden was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathrine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hello Cathrine! It was lovely to have you all stay with us in September in one of our new rooms. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the park nearby. Your dogs are gorgeous and so well behaved.... in fact if Flynn is looking to earn any extra pocket money, then send him our way, we’ll employ him - he could be our resident B&B dog as he goes so well with the decor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
6.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
4.7 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
3 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#17 of 29 in Derby
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 185A Duffield Road | Darley Abbey, Derby DE22 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range: $100 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We completely refurbished this property in 2017. Be aware that some of the older traveller pictures are therefore out of date. Our revamped bed and breakfast is 1 mile from Derby city centre. We are within walking distance of the West Mill wedding venue and close to the delightful Darley Park, which is perfect for dog walks. We offer a warm welcome, comfortable surroundings and a freshly prepared breakfast of your choice. In our main building we have two single rooms (with a shared shower and toilet room), a twin room with en-suite shower room and a large double room with en-suite bath and shower. We have recently added three further superior double and king en suite rooms which are individually styled, in the newly refurbished stables at the rear of the property Wifi is available free of charge throughout the property We have limited on site parking, but additional parking is available on the nearby streets. We allow pets to to stay in all but one of our rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing