We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dog friendly stay in beautifully refurbished garden room”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #1 of 24 Derby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Fantastic night's stay in one of the beautiful newly refurbished bed rooms. We had a ground floor room which was ideal with our two dogs as it opened up on to the garden. Dog treats, dog bowl and dog towel were a really thoughtful touch! Loved the room's decor - the new owners have put a lot of thought in to every detail. Beautifully designed, good sized room with nice touches such as quality toiletries and fresh milk to go with hot drinks.

Full English breakfast reading the papers was a great start to our Sunday, followed by a walk around Darley Park. Its just two minutes away from The Coach House - the park was huge and our dogs loved it.

Brilliant location for walking in the Peak District too - Dovedale was only about 25 mins drive away.

All in all a fantastic night’s stay in a lovely room - thank you The Coach House - we will be back!

Room Tip: The newly rerbuished rooms are lovley - the ground floor room which opened on to the garden was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathrine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hello Cathrine! It was lovely to have you all stay with us in September in one of our new rooms. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the park nearby. Your dogs are gorgeous and so well behaved.... in fact if Flynn is looking to earn any extra pocket money, then send him our way, we’ll employ him - he could be our resident B&B dog as he goes so well with the decor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Kathy and I had a lovely overnight stay at this excellent B&B. Lovely room, good breakfast and we felt very well look after. The bonus was a male and female blackcap in the back garden when we woke! Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello Peter and Kathy, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in one of new superior rooms. It was lovely to meet you both. Thank you for the awesome bird 'shout out' - I confess my ornithology skills could do with brushing up somewhat, so that observation had totally passed me by! We hope to welcome you all back to the Coach House in the future, when your daughter is back on her feet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

I booked here to stay after attending a wedding at the West Mill. It was perfect, I asked for an early check in so we didn't have to come back during the wedding and they accommodated that, it is in walking distance of the venue, however we drove left the car overnight and had a nice walk back in the morning to brush off the cobwebs! The room was beautiful with everything you needed and to a very high standard. The breakfast was yummy and again accommodated our requests and the hosts were lovely, offering us a cup of tea on arrival and taking the time to chat with us. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Derby.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nicnic19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi there - what a great review thankyou ! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, we are super close to West Mill which is very handy for a short stroll home after a day of celebrating there! Hope to see you again if you happen to be passing through Derby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with 4 friends for one night whilst going to an event nearby. We could not have felt more at home!
The newly done rooms are absolutely beautiful (the pictures really do them justice) and the breakfast room is very cute. The owners could not have been more friendly and welcoming - the b and b has recently come under new ownership.
After a late night the night before, I really appreciated that times for breakfast and check out were flexible.
The whole thing was a very traditional b and b experience, a home away from home.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank macrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hello - it was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay for the engagement party! I'm so glad that you all enjoyed staying in our newly refurbished rooms and I hope the sore heads cleared by the time you got back down south!
Hopefully see you again for the wedding....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Stayed in a twin room at the back of this lovely B&B for a one night stop-over. Convenient to get to central Derby.
Our room was comfy, immaculate and quiet. Breakfast was delicious. Main comment to make is how very friendly and helpful the staff were- both at our arrival (fresh pot of tea made for us) and at breakfast time.
Only small suggestion would be some quiet background music in the breakfast room for a little ambience when few people in there.

Room Tip: Back rooms seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review of your stay in our twin room. Am glad that your stay was peaceful. Good suggestion on the music. I agree, it's a big room and it can be a bit quiet if there's just a couple of people in there....we'll take a look at that...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
6.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
4.7 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
3 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#17 of 29 in Derby
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 185A Duffield Road | Darley Abbey, Derby DE22 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range: $100 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We completely refurbished this property in 2017. Be aware that some of the older traveller pictures are therefore out of date. Our revamped bed and breakfast is 1 mile from Derby city centre. We are within walking distance of the West Mill wedding venue and close to the delightful Darley Park, which is perfect for dog walks. We offer a warm welcome, comfortable surroundings and a freshly prepared breakfast of your choice. In our main building we have two single rooms (with a shared shower and toilet room), a twin room with en-suite shower room and a large double room with en-suite bath and shower. We have recently added three further superior double and king en suite rooms which are individually styled, in the newly refurbished stables at the rear of the property Wifi is available free of charge throughout the property We have limited on site parking, but additional parking is available on the nearby streets. We allow pets to to stay in all but one of our rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing