We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and cocktails, great for vegetarians & vegans”
Review of Bodega - CLOSED

Bodega
Price range: USD 9 - USD 31
Description: Bodega is a contemporary cantina bringing fresh, homemade South American inspired cuisine to Birmingham city centre, Worcester & Leicester and Derby We also offer one of the best drinks selections in the city, offering mouth watering cocktails, South American wines & bottled beers. Kids menu, take away & buffet services are also provided
Restaurant details
Description: Bodega is a contemporary cantina bringing fresh, homemade South American inspired cuisine to Birmingham city centre, Worcester & Leicester and Derby We also offer one of the best drinks selections in the city, offering mouth watering cocktails, South American wines & bottled beers. Kids menu, take away & buffet services are also provided
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Had lunch here on a Saturday and were delighted at the number of vegetarian offerings on the menu (they also apparently have a full vegan menu). The empanadas (pea, mint and feta) were hot, flaky and delicious, couldn't get enough of the papas chorreadas, and the cilantro lime rice was light and refreshing. The plantain salad was good, but lacked any pomegranate seeds or alternative (as far as we could tell). Also recommend the horchata but it was a tad over-sweet - worked well as a dessert substitute!

We actually returned in the evening in time for their happy hour. The barman was happy to talk us through the cocktail menu and give us some recommendations. The passion fruit caipirinha was spot on.

It was surprisingly quiet both times we went, but we were perhaps a bit off-peak.

Would definitely return!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hello Shmaddy,

Thank you for your glowing "twice in one day" review - fantastic to hear you came back to try out the happy hour, good shout on the passion fruit caipirinhas!

Hope you'll be back again to out even more of the menu.

Kind regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

This was my first trip for lunch to Bodega in Derby (I have previously visited the one in Birmingham and loved it). The service couldn't have been better, the staff really are excellent.

The food is also lovely - we opted for 4 small tapas style dishes and had a small nachos, chorizo with peppers and onions in red wine sauce, mole chicken quesadillas and some sweet potato fries. For drinks we had one mocktail and two small bottles of beer and it came to £31 in total. (The nachos are amazing).

Although the prices are ok, my only grumble is the cost of the chorizo on the small bites menu. This was £6 and you get 6 tiny pieces of chorizo sausage around the size of a 1 pence piece - really??? £1 per piece of chorizo. You can buy a full chorizo ring in a shop for two quid so we found this a bit cheeky to be honest!

Other than that, absolutely fab. Will return.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank charjepx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hello charjepx,

Thank you for your kinds words and 5 stars, great to hear we lived up to the reputation of our B'ham "big brother".

in regards to the price of the chorizo, this reflects the quality of the product we use. Just like most food items, there are cheaper alternatives available, but we choose to use the better quality products, we hope you enjoyed it!

See you again soon,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Very nice and reasonably priced lunch. They also serve quite quickly so great if you are in a hurry.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 754hazelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hi Hazel B,

Thanks for your short but sweet review!
See you again soon!
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

What a great find- popped in with my husband and teenage son (and we know how hard they are to please). Carla and Tom were brilliant- friendly, fast and efficient. Food was just what the doctor ordered and was very reasonably priced. I will be back!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Sinclair_Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello Sinclair_Tara,

Thank you for your review - great to hear we kept the whole family happy!

Hope to see you again soon,
vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Met with a couple of friends and decided to try here. Food was delicious all had Dr Pepper burritos and zombie cocktails which were fun. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere great. Look forward to a return trip in the new year. There was a little wait on food, but the staff let us know and wasn’t a problem, was worth the wait

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Dwyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hello Dwyny,

Thanks so much for your kind words! Dr Pepper burrito and a Zombie? What a comob!
See you again soon for more?

Kind regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing