We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Spalite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spalite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We stayed just the one night en-route to Minehead
Trisha is a Blast, so Funny & Welcoming, you really Feel like you've known her for years., We met Frank the next morning who like Trish was Very Friendly & Polite. The room has all you need from a b&b perspective, if you disagree then you need to book the Hilton!!
If we ever return to the area we will try our upmost to rebook the Spalite
All the Best to you at Spalite

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2016

It was the first time I stayed at this guest house, and I found Trish and Frank to be very friendly and the guest house had a very nice warm and welcoming atmosphere about it. My room was clean, tidy and the bed was very comfortable. In the room was a sink and the bathroom was just down the hallway. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and lovely. I look forward to coming and staying at Spalite again when I next visit Gloucester.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JeffersBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This was our second stay at the Spalite hotel - Trish and Frank are really friendly and welcoming, the breakfasts are lovely and the hotel is in an ideal spot in the middle of town - and very reasonably priced! Thanks for another great stay - see you again next year!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I very often stay at The Spalite as it is located at a very convenient location in the centre of Glouester for when I'm visiting on business, its also within easy reach of the Quays Designer Shopping outlet, pubs and restaurants. It is very clean and I always receive a warm welcome from Trish and Frank who always go out of their way to help when needed. Having been a visited for over two years now, I have stayed in every room and each one is nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. The breakfast is superb too and always prepared ready on time when required.

I have on occasions stayed at the Linden Tree and The Orchard Hotel in Gloucester when they have been booked up, but I must say, these are no match on the Spalite so I always now book well in advance to guarantee myself a room.

I will no doubt continue to stay at the Spalite as long as I continue visiting Gloucester whether its on business or for pleasure.

Many thanks to Trish and Frank!

Room Tip: On suite rooms are Rooms 3, 4, 6 & 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RSonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

I spent two nights in an en-suite room. It's a very clean establishment and priced cheaper than the nearby Travelodge. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is adequate. The location is handy for Gloucester Docks and Quays. The city centre is only five minutes walk away. I would definitely recommend this place to others...

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.2 km away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
675 reviews
1.5 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
374 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
662 reviews
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
0.5 km away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spalite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spalite Hotel

Address: 121 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: $106 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spalite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spalite Guesthouse is a family run Grade II listed property. It is centrally located in Gloucester within 500m of both Gloucester Quays designer outlet and Gloucester Docks. Guests have access to a lounge/bar area and a very large back garden. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities with fresh bedding and refreshments being provided daily. Free Wi-fi is available to all guests and breakfast is always included in the price. As an alternative, we also offer a packed lunch option for those wishing to get an early/late start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Spalite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing