We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly family run Guest House”
Review of Spalite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spalite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I very often stay at The Spalite as it is located at a very convenient location in the centre of Glouester for when I'm visiting on business, its also within easy reach of the Quays Designer Shopping outlet, pubs and restaurants. It is very clean and I always receive a warm welcome from Trish and Frank who always go out of their way to help when needed. Having been a visited for over two years now, I have stayed in every room and each one is nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. The breakfast is superb too and always prepared ready on time when required.

I have on occasions stayed at the Linden Tree and The Orchard Hotel in Gloucester when they have been booked up, but I must say, these are no match on the Spalite so I always now book well in advance to guarantee myself a room.

I will no doubt continue to stay at the Spalite as long as I continue visiting Gloucester whether its on business or for pleasure.

Many thanks to Trish and Frank!

Room Tip: On suite rooms are Rooms 3, 4, 6 & 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RSonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

I spent two nights in an en-suite room. It's a very clean establishment and priced cheaper than the nearby Travelodge. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is adequate. The location is handy for Gloucester Docks and Quays. The city centre is only five minutes walk away. I would definitely recommend this place to others...

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed in this lovely little place in October for 2 nights. What wonderful hosts! So friendly and helpful. Breakfast cooked to order, and it was delicious. Room was very clean and very comfortable bed. Fantastic big telly! Great location for tourist attractions and for shopping etc. Not far from coach station - but decided to get a taxi instead of walking only because of big bag!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Loved everything about this traditional B&B - modern rooms - very clean - good wifi - amazing breakfast - parking and a very good price. When I saw the price I wasn't expecting much. Very pleasantly surprised

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I had never been to Gloucester before,my oyher half comes down for the Cheltenham racing,normally with his cousinand they always stay at the Sparlite.This yearhis cousin coudnt make itand I came with him. My time at the sparlite was excellent Trish and Frankwere very friendlyand welcomimg, room wasvery clean and comfortable,incredible breakfast,The area was niceand walking distance to townanmd surrounding shops,the dock area just round the cornoris beautiful,plenty of nice places to eat. I would definetly recommend the spalite if you are visiting the Gloucester areaas you will be met with a veryfriendly welcomeand you will have a lovely stay there. My other half has booked his room for his next visit,WITH HIS COUSIN ,I hope maybe in the future I will visit again ,loved my stay at the Spalite.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank liz-stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.2 km away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
678 reviews
1.5 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
375 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
664 reviews
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
0.5 km away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spalite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spalite Hotel

Address: 121 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: $106 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spalite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spalite Guesthouse is a family run Grade II listed property. It is centrally located in Gloucester within 500m of both Gloucester Quays designer outlet and Gloucester Docks. Guests have access to a lounge/bar area and a very large back garden. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities with fresh bedding and refreshments being provided daily. Free Wi-fi is available to all guests and breakfast is always included in the price. As an alternative, we also offer a packed lunch option for those wishing to get an early/late start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Spalite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing