We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birthday treat”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Dairy Cottage garden and terrace. Beautiful Washburn Valley views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Dairy Cottage garden and terrace. Beautiful Washburn Valley views.
This is all yours during your stay with us Stunning views over The Washburn Valley and beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Old Dairy Cottage garden and terrace. Beautiful Washburn Valley views.
This is all yours during your stay with us
Stunning views over The Washburn Valley and beyond
Comfortable and cosy lounge with fabulous views
Beautiful views from the dining area
Bluebells at Fewston and Swinsty reservoirs - a lovely nearby walk from the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsVikkiB
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed at the Old Dairy Cottage for 2 nights. The cottage and the location are beautiful and the cottage itself was immaculate. Dawn was there to greet us when we arrived and was very friendly and welcoming. As we entered the cottage Dawn had very thoughtfully got the wood burner on the go so the cottage was toasty and warm for us. A bottle of red and some chocolates also waited for us which I thought was a lovely touch. Everything in the cottage has been very well thought out and we would definitely book again. We can recommend the Fewston Farm Shop for a decent breakfast and Fountains Abbey is well worth a visit. There is plenty to do in the surrounding areas and Dawn has left lots of information and recommendations in the cottage and if just relaxing and taking in the beautiful views is enough then you’ll not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Dear Vikki,
thank you for posting your lovely review. I am delighted you had a lovely birthday weekend!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janethard...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Dairy Cottage was was very clean, with a cosey log fire, the king bed was so comfortable with fresh white linen. The views when we entered the cottage from the windows were stunning for us with red kites soaring in the valley.
Dawn our host provided us with perfect recommendations for local visits and walks, Bolton Abbey, Salt Mills,Harrogate and local reservoir walks. We cannot wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Janet for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed the cottage so much!
You were a pleasure to host for and I look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma V
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our third trip and more marvellous than ever”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This cottage is a real gem in the Dales and it was brilliant to return here for our third visit. The views alone are stunning and for us the autumn nights made so cosy with the wood burning stove and plenty of logs on hand!

Dawn and Barry are fantastic hosts and the ‘Catering in the Cottage’ option to have dinner and dessert cooked and brought to you for an additional charge is a treat in itself. Honestly, if it was a restaurant in itself I would recommend Dawn’s cooking.

The Old Dairy and its sister property are perfectly located for trips to Harrogate, York and further afield. Don’t forget a quick trip down to the Timble Inn for Sunday lunch (but best to book in advance).

If you’re looking for a treat away from it all and the comfiest bed in Yorkshire then book away - you won’t regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
Emma what can I say! Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was fantastic having you both stay with us again and to cook for you, was for me, a great pleasure.
Barry and I very much hope to see you again.
Our very best wishes to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccajfis...
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous cozy bolthole with fantastic views”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a fabulous weekend in The Old Dairy cottage, which is perfectly sized for a romantic weekend hideaway for 2. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable, the kitchen well equipped and the living space with it's log burning stove was cozy and warm to hunker down in after a winter walk. The whole place is very tastefully decorated and thoughtfully laid out. Timble also has the added bonus of great walks from the door and a pub serving great food on your within staggering distance. Dawn is a great hostess who made the booking and the stay hassle free.
The only room for improvement is the electric shower, which is by no means bad, just not quite up to the same super luxe standard as the rest of the place. The bathroom is lovely- beautifully decorated, clean and warm, but it's too small for a bath and the shower is electric and therefore not particularly powerful. If there is any way of installing a power shower I would recommend doing it! We might investigate Dawn's other cottage next time, which is a bit bigger and so has a bath.
All things considered though I'd definitely recommend. I would imagine it's fab in summer too with the beautiful garden and terrace. I'm sure we will be back in the future. Thanks Dawn.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Rebecca. The power with regard to the shower is a tricky one. As the cottage was a former single storey barn a power shower supplied by a water tank would be virtually impossible. Just no loft space unfortunately! As you say, electric showers aren't always the most powerful but adequate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy R
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage was absolutely lovely. It has been very well decorated and have all mod cons. Though it is situated in a small village, you are only about 5 miles from the main attractions and only 1hr by car to York. The owner emailed instructions to get there which were very clear and were spot on. There are some great walks from the cottage but be prepared of some steep hills. We were very lucky as we had superb weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing