We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Excellent location for being able to come out of the hotel straight into the local attractions. That said parking is limited and with the lack of nearby overnight public parking be prepared for a lengthy walk! The staff were all very friendly. The rooms we had were 'tired' and in need of redecoration but as we were only there for one night and the twin room cost less than £55 we certainly can't complain. Big plus was the friendliness of the staff, the receptionist in particular. Definitely stay here again for a short break.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,810)
There are newer reviews for The Yorkshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,501 - 1,505 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hotel was good - comfortable and spacious room, lovely view, excellent and roomy bathroom. BUT - the food is awful - I had a tomato and mozarella salad conspicously lacking in both ingredients but made up with a pile of salad leaves. Breakfast was terrible - "catering" style sausages, cold scrambled egg, cold mushrooms - out of a tin, although the bacon was plentiful and hot. Queues for the DIY toaster, no plates for the toast, butter ran out, no milk on the tables, coffee was horrible - The staff appear to lack training and motivation - they were all very nice but seemed blissfully unaware of anything being wrong. I would stay at this hotel again - but on a room only basis - there are plenty of much better eateries close by.

Room Tip: I had a second floor room overlooking Betty's Tea Rooms - comfortable and picturesque.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krysia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor in relation to The Yorkshire Hotel. I was very pleased to read that your room was comfortable and picturesque. I am however sorry that the food offering received was not to the standard you expected and for which I apologise. Since receiving your comments we have changed the style of the Tomato and Mozzarella salad so thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of my team. With regard to breakfast I must admit we did experience an extremely high volume of guests taking breakfast at the same time during your stay. This did mean that replenishing the buffet was not as instantaneously as perhaps we would have liked, but would have been done within a matter of minutes. I therefore would assume that your comment of ' blissfully unaware of anything being wrong' being correct . As to my knowledge we did not receive negative comments in relation to the content of the buffet or the temperature of the food. If we had this would have been removed immediately it is worth noting that at no time have we ever used tined mushrooms?
I do hope you consider using The Yorkshire again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Location, location, location. The Yorkshire Hotel is opposite Betty’s Tea Rooms, just at the start of the main pedestrianised shopping area and a short walk away from the famed Valley Gardens. It is a more than a bit faded and certainly in need of some renovation, but the reception staff are lovely, beds are clean and comfortable and the room size is Victorian in scale, with great views down Montpellier Hill. Shampoo etc is not provided and the breakfast is really dire but at Late Rooms prices you can afford to bring your own toiletries and have breakfast over the road!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doylerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor . I was pleased to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us , but I am sorry breakfast was not to your liking.
I do hope you consider using The Yorkshire again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel is in a brill location, opposite Bettys and close to all the local shops. Great as a base however would not recommend this place for somewhere to go to actually enjoy a hotel experiance.

The main entrance looks grand, however as you walk to your room the standard of the decoration and upkeep of the building rapidly decreases.

The room was small and needed to be docorated. Something sharp was sticking out in the bathroom that i caught my arm on.

I stayed here whilst my partner went on a night out round Harroagte. Got it as a last minute deal so reduced price. If i had paid full price i would have been extremly disapointed.


Ordered room service here, came fast, didn't call before it arrived(stated they would do in the menu), however the food was lovely.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NicolaSparkle!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Yorkshire Hotel, I am sorry that your stay was clearly not an acceptable standard for which I can only apologise. Having read your review I see that you stayed with us over 5 months ago its therefore always difficult to respond to specifics after such a long time has elapsed.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Just stayed for 2 nights at this very central site overlooking Betty's Tearooms. Large room with king-size bed made it all the more comfortable.The bathroom must have measured about 4 x 2 metres in area. Full range of programmes on modern tv. And it has wardrobes - not these horrible hanging spaces. Two club chairs and a small table provided us with loads of surfaces to write on. And plenty of shelving in the bathroom for our toiletries. Breakfasts were good although they should look at the production of toast which took ages. Staff were really obliging and cheerful. Would certainly use it again. Great value for money in a town where a pot of tea can cost a fortune across the road.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the front of the hotel for the view. Traffic noise was not significant althou...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I certainly take on board your comments relating to our toaster facility and we are currently looking at how we can make this process more efficient. Thank you once again for your comments, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,312 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
621 reviews
0.6 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,859 reviews
0.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: $97 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing