We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Somewhere to kick off your walking boots
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Somewhere to kick off your walking boots
garden and seating seating areas - the outside steps are optional Thornton Beck runs next to Holly Beck Stables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Somewhere to kick off your walking boots
garden and seating seating areas - the outside steps are optional
Thornton Beck runs next to Holly Beck Stables
Garden view
cosy yet light and airy sitting room
a lovely big table to plan your day
a well equipped kitchen with all you need - just add food
Plumped pillows and downy duvet
luxurious robes and toiletries
Wake every morning in your very own little piece of heaven
Snooze a little, read a little, grab a coffee and read a bit more.
spacious shower room filled with luxury toiletries
garden seating in a sunny spot
a cosy summerhouse to chill, take in the evening sun and listen to the rippling stream
al fresco dining on a sunny patio
stream side garden
garden
front view of house
just ring the bell
enter the village
Shaw Mills, lots of walking, cycling or just sit and take in the view!
walking down the lane
garden view of Thornton Beck
nearby Ripley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JM11220
Kincumber, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you are looking for an "escape to the country" in the Yorkshire Dales, Holly Beck Cottage is ideal. We used it as a base to travel to York and the Yorkshire moors but it is close to Harrogate and, on Kath's recommendation, we had dinner almost every night at a great pub very close by. The cottage itself is spacious, beautifully furnished, and extremely comfortable. It was those little extra touches which impressed. Everything was provided in abundance, kitchen equipment, laundry, coat hangers, toiletries. Dave even hooked up a clothes line for us. Kath and Dave made us feel very welcome but were also unobtrusive hosts. Just wished we could have stayed longer: for a holiday rental it was the best ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the accommodation and warm friendly hosts
Liked least: No mobile phone reception with Virgin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the luxury of a 5* hotel in a holiday cottage”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is the nicest holiday rental we have ever stayed in.The cottage itself has been beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated.
Every detail has been carefully thought out and guests have everything they could possibly need.
The owners Kath and David are lovely people who made us feel very welcome.
The welcome hamper was very much appreciated!
I couldn't recommend this cottage enough and we hope to return again very soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_KingC...
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An absolute stunning cottage in Yorkshire”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I spent two weeks in Hollybeck House Cottage this June. This is without a doubt the best cottage we have ever stayed in during our ten years of travel. The cottage was spotless. The bedding so beautiful we didn't want to get out of bed. All the amenities were Molton Brown. The kitchen was well organised. Our hosts left us a welcome basket of food, fresh flowers and after one week our bedding was changed and more fresh flowers and confectionery left. David and Kath are truly two of the most beautiful people you could ever meet. Don't bother going anywhere else. Hollybeck House is in a great location only five minutes from Ripley with great little shops for all your needs. From two Australians.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the whole place
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtahPeggy
North Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage accommodation in Yorkshire!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Holly Beck Stables was the perfect base for the day trips we took around Yorkshire. We were greeted with a hamper stocked with homemade cookies, a new package of Taylor's Yorkshire tea and a helpful local newspaper. The cottage was meticulously clean and had everything one needed. The
fresh flowers were a nice touch. The owners, Kath and David, were most helpful but there is plenty of privacy as you have your own place. All in all an excellent place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This review is long overdue. My wife and I stayed at Holly Beck Stables on the first night of our honeymoon after being married in Harrogate and having the reception at Newby Hall near Ripon. Holly Beck was nicely in the middle of the two! Kath Conner and her husband were nothing short of charming. They allowed me and my best man to stay the night before the wedding (luckily there was a sofa bed in the living room for the best man!), and did everything possible to add to our big day - even giving us a bottle of champagne and a handwritten card.

The accommodation itself was perfect. Beautifully and comfortably furnished, it has everything you could want. Staying in summer, it was lovely and cool, and I could see how in winter it would be warm and snug, so at whatever time of year you were fortunate enough to be staying there, you would be sure to return from your walk / sightseeing / shopping etc. trip to a relaxing environment. The stables were converted by the Connors and they have done such a beautiful job and taken great pride in it. They even provide wifi (unusual in this sort of accommodation in my experience, and very useful).

I would really like to thank the Connors (if they ever read this post - although I did thank them in person!) and encourage anyone who is looking to stay in self catered accommodation near Ripon or Harrogate or just somewhere beautiful and off the beaten track to look no further than Holly Beck Stables.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and luxuriousness
Liked least: It does not have a bath - but as I don't normally have them this didn't matter. Shower was great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing