We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Visited for a single night with my partner. On arrival hotel staff were very welcoming. We selected a 'quiet room' so stayed in room 101. Our window view was obstructed by what I think we're the stairs to the roof(?) which was a little disappointing but not a massive issue. Room was very clean, usual amenities, plenty of tea/coffee/milk etc. Bed I felt was very uncomfortable although my partner had no issues as he likes a harder mattress. Free WiFi. Lots of communal areas around reception to have a drink which were lovely. Car park was a £5 charge for the night. Overall pleasant stay, good value for money.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Siobhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed many of the hotel facilities including free Wifi and bar and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 348 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2015

This hotel looks good on paper but it is terrible.

Booked car parking in advance and got no instructions about the car park. It was down a small side entrance, difficult to find at a busy traffic junction and had to go through a barrier, wondered what would happen if it was the wrong area! No where to park there as all the empty spaces had parking legs and locks, abandoned car to go to reception. Given a parking bay and key, came back and no way would a car fit in. It was against a wall and no maneuverability. Marks on wall showed others had tried and damaged vehicle. Abandoned car blocking others and went back to reception. Despite it being only 20 minutes after check in time all the spaces allocated we were told. Told to park in disabled bay, which says a lot for their care for disabled drivers. We had to later spot empty plots and ask to be moved there. Also asked how we got out and told to check with reception the following morning. I had visions of spending the four days at reception if this carried on!

The lobby has a dull, dirty carpet with dark walls and they need lights on all day even on the sunniest days. There was no feel good factor in this entrance hall.

On booking in, at 20 minutes past the time we could arrive, we were asked what time we wanted dinner, but told that everything from 6pm to 7.30pm had already been booked by people on coaches!

We paid for an upgrade room and it had had some makeover work. But the carpet had a trip wrinkle in it, very poorly laid. The shower in the bathroom looked quite posh, with a light and fan and clean, but it should have a danger warning on it. In a second it went from freezing to burning and vice versa, several times in one shower. The adjustment was not thermostatic and when anyone in the whole building, it seemed, turned on a tap it dramatically changed the water temperature to dangerous levels.

Went down to first evening meal. Ordered the leg of lamb and it sounded great but was disgraceful. Half of it was fat and gristle and the other tough as old boots. The next evening I chose beef casserole, that could not be tough surely. I have to say that the 5 small pieces of meat that I got were quite nice. I then decided that I had to ensure that I ate good lunches as the evening meals were small and as I have described. So I started going to Wetherspoons, across the road at lunch for a meal and a pint of good real ale for under a fiver. I enjoy cheese instead of sweet after the main course, but I would have had to pay several pounds to buy it as an extra from the 'other' menu. Cheaper to buy some biscuits and cheese and eat them away from the dining room, there is a beautiful cheese shop in Harrogate.

As others have said we were woken up several nights with loud voices, which continued one night for almost an hour. Were were told they were from the night clubs across the road. We were glad we were on the side of the hotel and not in direct firing line, but on hot nights it is no fun to have to close all the windows to try and deaden the sound so as to get some sleep. The rooms on the front did have some secondary glazing, but that is no help with no air conditioning.

There are many internal steps going to the dining room and on the bedroom landings. We could only find one very slow lift that took 5 persons, it said, but 4 was a squash. And we witnessed people on sticks struggling with stairs because there was a queue for the lift and each journey took ages as the lift was so slow.

On a survey of the hotel for Shearings they asked what we thought of the entertainment in the hotel.........there was none!

Harrogate is a beautiful place, well worth a visit, but I will find another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Get one away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank An0nym0usly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay.
I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations and am investigating the issues you raise.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

A very tired, drab and dark hotel. No atmosphere and no entertainment. Rooms on the side and front of the hotel hear the noise from the nightclub and bars nearby which turn out very late.(2 am). We had a premier room and the carpet should have been replaced, it was very stained. I would not have sat on the sofa either - very dirty. The bed was comfortable which was the only plus.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade, its not worth it. Rooms overlooking the carpark might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IlfordHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

I am disappointed to read your dissatisfaction with your recent stay and apologise for the issues encountered.
I am investigating the issues you raise.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I was after a hotel located within walking distance of the centre, which caters for the single traveller, having spa and indoor pool facilities, and providing a decent cooked breakfast in the morning. This hotel ticks all the boxes and provides them at very affordable prices. The spa and indoor pool facilities were great, especially because they were never busy. I can definitely recommend Sarah’s full body massage! The hotel staff were very helpful and delightfully friendly. The best compliment I can make is to book another stay and that is just what I have now done!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your 5 star review.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next excellent value break.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Room tired-looking. Carpet uneven and wrinkled. Paintwork on window sill cracked and peeling, outside sill rotting - major repairs needed. Unable to adjust shower, scalding hot! nice view from window, but very noisy, on busy road. Lots of shouting late at night as people left clubs. Managed to move to another room after 4 nights which was at back of hotel, better decorated and shower worked. Food OK but not marvellous - roast beef tough, couldn't cut it let alone eat it. Staff all pleasant and helpful but won't be staying here again!

Room Tip: Steps to most rooms, small lift which people with wheelchairs found access difficult. Rooms at fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your review. I take this opportunity to apologise that your initial room did not meet expectations.
I do hope you will consider a future stay at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,078 reviews
0.4 km away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,377 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,511 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $87 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing