We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spent two nights in this superb hotel, brilliant location, friendly staff, lovely rooms.

Room Tip: We had an executive room, on the ground floor despite facing main rd was very quiet facing pleasant...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleybowwows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStudleyHotel, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback for it is much appreciated.

Hope to welcome you back soon,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 585 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed here for one night on 14th January with my wife and 3 month old son. Booked online, requested an Orchid Suite and also a cot. Car park was small but did the job. Was able to check in early as the room was ready which meant we could ofload all baby stuff which was handy. Room was big, spotless and well equipped. Ipod docks, large tv, huge comfortable bed. En suite was large and very nicely finished with a very nice shower! Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had several offers from various staff members to help carry bags and pushchair which is generally expected but is amazing how many places would just watch you struggle! Locaton was perfect for exploring Harrogate. 2 minutes walk to all the shops and boutiques. We also booked a table in the Orchid Restaurant which i must say was absolutely faultless! We are already planning our next trip to stay in the hotel and have another meal to try more of the menu! All in all it is not a cheap, bottom end hotel but it is far from expensive and in my opinion you get more than you pay for! We would recommend to anyone and my parents have already booked to stay in the coming weeks.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for one night in an Executive Room, and were blown away by this fantastic hotel. There's always a danger when booking with an independent hotel that you might be disappointed, but this was definitely not the case. All I can say is that the other reviewers definitely know what they are talking about!

Our room was large, clean and modern, but with the high ceilings you expect from a period building. The bathroom was spotless, and the complimentary toiletries were particularly nice.

We were also impressed by the huge bed, and equally huge TV with built in Blu-Ray player and PS2. If we'd been staying longer I imagine we'd have got quite a lot of use out of it in the evenings.

I've reviewed the Orchid restaurant separately, so I'll just say here that I highly recommend you book a table in this fantastic restaurant.

Also worthy of mention is the hotel bar, O Bar, where I had the best Manhattan I've ever had away from home - also very reasonably priced.

Although the hotel has no pool of its own, you can get a pass for the leisure facilities at a neighbouring hotel free of charge. We did this, and enjoyed an hour in the pool, steam room and sauna. They even let us take towels from the hotel down with us, although they were also provided on arrival at the gym.

Room Tip: Executive Room was very spacious
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnysorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night for my birthday. Booked the deal which was £129 for room and £100 credit to be used in bar and Orchid restaurant. What a steal! The room was clean with everything in it that you could need. The bed I found to be VERY hard but this is a personal thing I guess. All the staff were extremely friendly and 'Detty' in the bar should be given a pat on the back. The evening meal was lovely and the restaurant had a great atmosphere and we found the £100 suffiecient to cover what we wanted from the menu...including drinks (which included a fantastic range of cocktails). The hotel rate included free parking at the rear of the hotel and the hotel is practically in the town centre. If you are wanting to visit Harrogate... I highly recommend this hotel. (There are too many lifeless hotels around... support the independents!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

An experience we look forward to every time, excellent food and service. Lovely rooms with staff that could not b more accommodating. Only complaint which is such a personal thing no feather pillows and no bath robes

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazeljohnsonollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
621 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
182 reviews
0.8 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,661 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,312 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $109 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing