We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all rounder”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #47 of 396 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 20
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'etre' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and creme brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and pate de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Sitting in the heart of the town centre, just a two minute walk from Harrogate Theatre and close to the bustling Montpellier shopping district. The decor is decidedly French in style, with the accent on elegant and relaxed. Our bistrot is located on the first floor with lift access and benefits from a stunning heated balcony, which is the perfect place for dining al fresco whatever the weather! Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soiree Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online. We also have a bistrot in Ilkley in West Yorkshire, which sits proudly within a stunning arch-shaped building that dates back to 1861. Next door you will also find our sister pub, The Crescent Inn, which boasts 8 real ales, 15 wines by the glass, honest home-cooked food and eleven affordable boutique bedrooms.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I'm always dubious of 'chain restaurants' and tend to avoid them, however after giving Bistrot Pierre a try I was actually shocked to how good the experience was. All food for our entire party including children's mac and cheese were all amazing, full of flavour, well presented and good portions. A very reasonable priced menu along with efficient and friendly service made the whole experience very enjoyable. They also serve a good selection of drinks from local Yorkshire beer to traditional French cider. Highly recommended

Thank Pauljaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameshr7, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Pauljaz,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very important to us.


I am very happy to read in your review about how you have enjoyed your whole experience with us, we do try our best as a ‘collection of restaurants’ to provide the original Bistrot Pierre customer approach to that of when we started in 1994.

I look forward to seeing you dine with us again in the future.

Best

James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

Initially unsure due to some recent negative comments, however, so glad we decided to give it a try. A number of customers in the restaurant aided the comfortable atmosphere. Excellent service from the friendly staff, especially Dan. His knowledge of the wine list was good and our choice was a perfect accompaniment to our meal. The beef bourguignon was one of the best I've had outside Paris. At the end of the evening it was nice to have the staff spend a little time in conversation as they cleared away, especially our hardworking Polish waitress, sorry forgot her name. Will definitely book again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank xcpoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We booked a table for our wedding anniversary having previously been here a few times. Start to finish was great, service, food and overall evening. We had scallops to start then my wife had duck from the new menu and I had pork. Both were ample in size and a nice bottle of fizz. A brownie from the chef/team finished off the evening and was a lovely touch. We have previously been more as a lunch but can see this becoming our evening place of choice also

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Ok. Here’s the positive part of the review. Nice spot, good decor and general ambience
I’m sure in summer when the sun is settling it’s a perfect candle light setting as they have an outside deck overlooking the town high street . However the food has to match the setting

Sadly this time (second time we’ve been) the kitchen was below par. The young waitress got my starter wrong . The subsequent Starter was cooked liver with a poor Imitation of a fresh salad . Just awful - I’d actually ordered a liver parfait ! Mains were mediocre , I struggle to suggest better . Desserts slightly redeemed the evening . Brownie and ice cream went down a hit . But we can end on a positive note (!) . Top marks to young French waiter for cheering us with novel stories of his love of his new life in HARROGATE having arrived from southern France . His cheery demeanour lifted and warmed us before confronting the brave winter chill that awaited us outside after the evening ended

3  Thank Matwal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice S, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very important to us.
It was a such shame for us to hear that you were disappointed with the food on your most recent visit, for which we sincerely apologise. We have shared your comments with the Restaurant Team, who were also very disappointed that the standards which we pride ourselves on were not met on this occasion.

We really do hope that you will return to us, as we would love to reaffirm your faith in us.

Please send me an email to harrogate@pierre94.co.uk as I would like to discuss the matter further with you and I would like to invite you back to our Bistrot.

Kind regards

Clement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We have visited the new Southport Bistrot on a number of occasions and were curious as to whether the Harrogate Bistrot would provide the same quality experience . We needn’t have worried. The dining area was impressive, the service amiable and efficient, the food excellent. We arrived at 5pm and were immediately shown to a table by a window. Wine and food order taken with good humour. Food served by the excellent Eline. The only down side was that the “Gents” were out of order, not enough to spoil the visit. Highly recommended and we will certainly eat there on our next trip to Harrogate.

1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice S, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear John,

I am delighted to see that we have been ticked all the boxes and gave you the experience you were looking for. I will pass it on to Eline who will be delighted as well with your comments.

Looking forward to see you again on your next trip in Harrogate.

Kind regards

Fabrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing