We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big park”

Ferry Meadows Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is something for everybody at Ferry Meadows. Imagine somewhere beautiful, safe and unspoilt where you can walk, cycle, play, horse-ride, ride a train, go fishing, exercise the dog, jog, push the buggy and explore endless meadows, lakes and woodland all less than three miles from Peterborough's busy city centre. We also offer three play areas catering for different ages and an events programme throughout the year with lots of activities for children. If all of this isn't enough to keep you entertained the Visitor Centre stocks a wide range of toys and games along with gifts, souvenirs and sweet treats. After all this activity you can relax at one of our cafes, find a nice spot for a picnic or fire up on one of our barbecue stands. New for 2014: On 11 April Lakeside at Ferry Meadows will open its doors to Park visitors. Lakeside provides a hub for activity and relaxation within Ferry Meadows as the home for Nene Outdoors, a new watersports and outdoor activity venture and Lakeside Kitchen & Bar, a contemporary dining and function venue. A new and exciting play area is set to open in early April. Aimed at younger children the new Otter playground will provide an exciting play space to explore and enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018

great big park with lots of space to play and walk. not the easiest to get to if you don't have a car / bike but apart from that no complaints.

Thank _seiunchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water sports"
in 65 reviews
"watersports centre"
in 24 reviews
"caravan club site"
in 35 reviews
"children's play areas"
in 28 reviews
"dog walking"
in 36 reviews
"fresh air"
in 39 reviews
"lakeside cafe"
in 15 reviews
"miniature railway"
in 43 reviews
"kite flying"
in 13 reviews
"bird watching"
in 24 reviews
"mini train"
in 17 reviews
"small train"
in 15 reviews
"all ages"
in 75 reviews
"feed the ducks"
in 20 reviews
"open space"
in 20 reviews
"lovely place"
in 52 reviews
"cycle hire"
in 13 reviews
Filter

56 - 60 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I recently tried to visit Ferry Meadows having enjoyed this area very much in the past. I found the system very hard to understand and tried to pay as soon as I found the machine. I then later realised that having paid you have to leave quickly or you incur a penalty. I managed to get out just in time and will not be going back.

Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Ian, we are sorry to hear of your recent experience with the parking system. We also offer visitors the chance to pay for their parking up to 48 hours after leaving the Park and provide this information on signage when leaving the Park. Not sure what time you were visiting but during opening hours, our Visitor Centre staff and Rangers are always more than happy to help out and explain the process. We hope that now you have experienced how to use it, that you will consider returning to us again in the future. Your feedback will be passed on to our parking team to review their signage etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely walk with our dogs, and all thoroughly enjoyed the bracing weather. Our visit was marred by the parking system. On leaving, the machine refused to accept our numberplate but issued us with a charge of £2, which we paid and obtained a receipt. Nearly two months later we receive a parking charge notice. We naturally appealed and provided evidence but the appeal was denied. As the letter was dated a week before we received it and the appeal takes up to 28 days you therefore lose the option of paying £25 instead of £50.
We paid the amount the machine said we owed, and this visit ended up costing us £52 in total. Will not be coming back.

Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Julia, we are sorry to hear of this. If you have evidence of your payment then your Parking Charge Notice should have been cancelled. As Park with Ease manage the appeals process, I am assuming that our team did not intervene in this. If you feel that you would like us to look into the matter if you were unfairly charged when you have proof of payment, please email parking@neneparktrust.org.uk with details so we can look into this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Literally a happy bunny! Just don’t have a single complaint if I’m honest, well done to all works and employees x

Thank Hannahledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Nene Park. Not sure if you managed to visit on one of the rare sunny days recently but hope you will come back and visit again when the sun is shining. It is a magical place all year round but we love it best when the sky is blue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the caravan and motorhome site in the country park. It’s beautiful for walking, lots of beautiful birds with plenty of visitor information. Would highly recommend.

Thank Tarjetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks so much for your review, we will pass this on to our tenants who run the Caravan Site who will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found our visitor information useful and that you could enjoy the nature and wildlife whilst visiting. Hope you will come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferry Meadows Country Park also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Ferry Meadows Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing