We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We could not of asked for anything more”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pontganol Cottage

Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
The cosy little cottage sits behind an exterior stone wall, providing an enclosed garden The calming and contemporary master bedroom with original fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
The cosy little cottage sits behind an exterior stone wall, providing an enclosed garden
The calming and contemporary master bedroom with original fireplace
Bath products - and a handy spot for resting a book, or glass of wine!
Looking towards the summerhouse, perfect for pottering round and enjoying the sunshine.
The large landing gives a feeling of space
Contemporary metro tiles behind the semi-circular shower enclosure, and a view to the mountains
The roll-top bath with views of the stars - just add yourself, bath products and wine!
A detail of some hanging hearts, looking into the master bedroom
The living room by day - great for relaxing and planning your day
View from the summerhouse towards the cottage - enough space to play, or relax
The little summerhouse, perfect for reading the Sunday papers with a coffee and a croissant!
The painted wooden country cottage kitchen
Feel free to move the garden furniture around to make the most of the sun!
The farmhouse-style table in the kitchen/diner - perfect for breakfast, brunch, lunch & dinner!
Llangynidr mountain - perfect for walking and looking for red kites
The kitchen has everything you need to be a master chef, or just pop to the local pub!
The bespoke Welsh slate sign, Pontganol means 'middle bridge'
The cosy living room with woodburning stove, snuggle up and make yourself at home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangynidr, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brendan s
1 review
“We could not of asked for anything more”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a fantastic find this cottage was.Great garden for all to enjoy.The cottage itself is clean,bright,full of character,quirky and so homely.The locals in the village and pubs were very friendly.Personal touches upon our arrival were special and thoughtful.Hilary has done a fantastic job of providing everything one could require in a holiday cottage without Pontganol losing any of her quirkiness and character .It was a pleasure to return to our "home" each evening and sit in the garden planning the next day of adventure.We had great weather to appreciate the beauty of the Beacons and will be back.I recommend this fantastic cottage to all

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely garden and charm of cottage
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feelingbl...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place you want to keep a secret but can't help shouting about!”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This beautiful cottage is a sparkling gem in the Brecon Beacons crown! We took our first doggy-friendly family holiday here with our 6 year old daughter and 5 month old puppy and honestly could not recommend it highly enough! The cottage is finished to the highest standard I've encountered and is a step beyond what you normally expect! You really get the feeling that the owner created this holiday cottage with a good heart - not just as a business. You will find everything you need plus a little more to have a wonderfully relaxing and restorative break away from it all. Every room is so well thought out for comfort and entertainment. We only actually ate out once - not for lack of choice in the area but because we enjoyed spending time in the cottage so much! From star-gazing long lazy baths to curling up in front of the log burner, or enjoying a BBQ in the sun, this place is full of all the simple and beautiful things in life than transform a nice holiday into an amazing one! The area is one of outstanding natural beauty - the scenery quite simply breathtaking. We took a trip to the top of Sugarloaf Mountain and enjoyed a picnic and wonderful walk (picnic hamper / flask and rug can all be found in the cottage)! and have the most wonderful photographs to cherish from the experience. We also rode the Brecon Mountain Railway line (dogs welcome there too)! and would most highly recommend that for the wonderful views, once again! A final mention must go the the locals - everyone we met was so welcoming, chatty and friendly and we've never been anywhere quite so universally friendly! Don't miss the 'Black Mountain Gold' chocolate shop in Crickhowell (just down the road), where we received a really warm welcome from the owner. And after that stroll along to 'Bookish' for some gorgeous books, cards and gifts. Obviously we can't wait to return:-))))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet A
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our second time here and we love it!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great week staying at Pontganol Cottage for our second time with our 2 boys aged 4 and 7. Hilary has thought if everything and we felt thoroughly pampered. There are a great range of indoor and outdoor games and masses to do in the local area, from messing about by the river, walking along the canal, climbing sugar loaf and visiting nearby Raglan Castle. We love the log fire in the sitting room, and it's great having a separate room for the children to have a go with some of the wii games, we also love the luxurious bathroom and roll top bath. We'll be back again, thanks Hilary

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek A
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a wonderful week at the cottage.
Hilary,the owner,has thought of everything and her attention to detail is first class.
The homemade brownies and other personal touches make such a difference and we really were made to feel welcome.
The Brecon and Monmouthshire canal is only minutes away and we enjoyed hours of lovely,peaceful walks (Local mountains are available too!) and Pen y Fan is less than 30 minutes away.
It is a beautiful,stylish cottage and we will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis after a day on the hills”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Pontganol Cottage combines the best of old and new, to provide excellent accommodation for 4 or more. The cottage has been beautifully renovated to an extremely high standard, keeping many of the original 1800's features, and then complementing them with modern in-keeping facilities, kitchen, bathroom, heating etc. It certainly has the wow factor inside. Outside it has parking for 2 cars and enclosed gardens. It has 2 pubs in walking distance both do good food and beer, one only 90yards away :-) all in all a great place to relax after a tough day in the hills, we'll be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the inside of the cottage
Liked least: close proximity to a housing estate
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing