We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Priceline
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
28
21
18
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
21
18
9
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2020 via mobile

This is a B&B I will be staying in every year. The location is super private and super peaceful. Room is great. Bed very comfortable. Nice size bathroom. Everything is very clean. What I did not expect was a balcony with an awesome view looking out into the North Atlantic. Absolutely nothing to complain about. The hosts are excellent and made it a point to let me know if I needed anything, to let them know. The Northern Peninsula is truly breathtaking and this B&B is the ideal place to stay in.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Pro - minutes away from L'anse aux Meadows. Lovely view from room. Breakfast is made to order and they are very thoughtful to make sure you have enough. Sitting room is very nice with a good view lots of seating and interesting local books. Breakfast is a really nice setup encouraging guests to chat together. Extra blankets and heating provided for cool mornings. Good free parking available.
Cons - very noisy. Walls are thin and you can hear a lot. Water pump was very loud. Not unbearable but not the best experience. I usually pick B&Bs to be able to talk to locals but this is sort of the absent owner model - not much chance to talk to anyone.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank JAR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel0982, Manager at Valhalla Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Sorry about the water pump . We did replace it last summer and there was still something wrong with the new one the week you came and we had to replace it again right afterwards. We bought the top of the line one this time. So hopefully we don't have to do that again for another 10-20 years.

We do leave the space at the Bed and breakfast for our guests so that we are not in your way and if you need us, just call from hallway phone. Guests are free to use sitting room and the kitchen to make themselves a cup of tea. You can chat with other guests there. Most of our guests come to the norseman restaurant in L'Anse aux meadows and meet us there. We are the servers. Also fee free to ask us and the other servers questions about the area. We will be most willing to answer your questions and we enjoy chatting with our guests. Edna the morning cook is also very knowledgeable about the area and vikings, since she lived here all her life and was a re-enactor at Norstead for years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2019

I chose this B&B based on its proximity to the Anse Aux Meadows site and can wholeheartedly recommend others to do the same! Comfy, spacious room with good Wifi (I stayed in Leif), with a balcony overlooking such a scenic view. Breakfast was great too! My only suggestion for improvement is to make the rooms a bit more soundproof, but that's a minor issue compared to this B&B's many advantages!

Room tip: room with a balcony
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank siddy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

We stayed here during the iceberg festival. Owned by the same wonderful people who own the Norseman restaurant, which is fabulous. The same wonderful cook will prepare your breakfast. Very nice breakfast/common room. Clean, and very comfortable. Wifi works great. We saw a moose rambling by our room, and icebergs floating by. Will stay again.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

Overall a nice place to stay! We stayed in the Eirik room and were very happy with the lovely views from the balcony right off the room. The bed was comfortable and TV and wifi worked. No cell service. Check in was different since you call to let them know you're there, but it was easy to do! Unfortunately to pay by credit you have to pay at the Norseman otherwise pay the cook in the morning. Breakfast was nice French toast and melon! Good location to L'ans aux Meadows. I recommend the Northern Delight restaurant up the road for a nice but inexpensive meal.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews