We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good fish and chips, beautiful views, near historic church”

Templars Inn Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 158 Restaurants in Wexford
Price range: USD 5 - USD 23
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Templars Inn is an historic pub restaurant in the scenic area of Hook Head in Co. Wexford. Specialising in fresh seafood dishes, we offer panoramic sea views while you tuck into our famous seafood chowder or locally caught crab claws.
Reviewed 12 May 2016

This was a really nice find. We enjoyed some really good fish and chips with really good chips, not the floppy ones you often get. It is also just across the road from a ruined church and cemetery. I would go back again for sure.

Thank Chileice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templarsinnmgr, Owner at Templars Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Hi and thank you for your great review, wonderful comments and lovely photos. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Templars Inn and are sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor world. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Sean & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 309 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2016

You may well pass this place on the way to Hook Head Lighthouse it looks a bit tired but it hides a great food experience and the staff are very accommodating and friendly and the price will surprise you 10/10 for food presentation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SAABMANKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templarsinnmgr, Owner at Templars Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Hi and thank you for your fantastic review andlovely comments about our staff and food presentation. We really appreciate you taking the time to tell the world about Templars Inn. Hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Sean & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Came across this bar/ restaurant on a trip around the Hook Peninsula and in our opinion it is definitely worth a visit if in the Hook area..there is ample parking and a lovely scenic view of the coast...there was a ruin of an old church ( i would guess dating back to Norman times...this is county Wexford after all..) across the road..the interior and decor of the Templars bar as its name suggests has this theme throughout also...the area and bar / restaurant is very atmospheric..it is a cosy bar..a very welcome inn especially on the wet wet day which was yesterday 7 may..! On a sunny summer day the dining experience would even more so be a very positive one too! The food was very good quality ...had one of the best seafood chowders ever with wonderful fresh seafood and beautifully seasoned...ingredients in my toasted and freshly prepared sourdough sandwich local and good quality Wexford Cheddar and ham...maybe the relish / onion marmalade could be served on the side rather than in the sandwich but this is a matter of personal taste..the menu is extensive with great variety for a full meal or just a sandwich.. all in all we would definitely call again to the Templars Inn if travelling in the Hook area..

Thank FinolaCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templarsinnmgr, Owner at Templars Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Hi Finola
Thank you for your great review and lovely comments and description of Templars for the world to see. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and are recommending us. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Sean & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Templars is in a wonderful location on the Hook Peninsula. There is a great choice of food. It is very tasty and very reasonable. The kids meals are very generous and very reasonable. Lots of space and parking too. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Karanda73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templarsinnmgr, Owner at Templars Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Hi and thank you for your great review and wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Sean & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We frequently holiday in the area and would visit Templars several times a year. The food is always great, though I think the restaurant and bar area could do with a good makeover and always appears a bit grubby.

We popped in during the bank holiday weekend only to be curtly advised that they had no free tables. There were plenty of free tables but these were all apparently reserved. No effort was made to put our names on a waiting list or advise us when a table may be available, I felt the attidute was very unfriendly, they couldn't have cared less whether we stayed or went.

We left immediately and had a fantastic meal in 'The Local' just up the road. It's such a shame this happened, I would be loathe to come back here now and the place has huge potential.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ailish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templarsinnmgr, Owner at Templars Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Hi Ailish
The May holiday weekend saw record numbers of people come to the Hook. Unfortunately we only have 90 seats in our premises and cannot accommodate everyone who wants to dine here. Like any restaurant we do reserve a small percentage of our tables for locals and visitors who plan ahead and book a table. If you had booked a table you would have been accommodated. I am sorry if you thought we were rash at letting you know we could not serve you, but we were full and could not take any more walk in customers at the time you arrived.
I believe your opinion that our restaurant and bar appear grubby and need a makeover is unjustified.
We serve great food in a great location and are proud of the service we have now provided for our first year here.
Hopefully you will understand our position and give us another try the next time you are in this lovely part of wexford.
Best wishes
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Templars Inn Restaurant also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
Duncannon, County Wexford
Duncannon, County Wexford
 

Been to Templars Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing