We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,352)
Filter reviews
1,352 results
Traveller rating
528
390
243
113
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
390
243
113
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure centre the river car park bar staff top class central location food was lovely kids club bit dated bar food viking triangle family room from start to finish saturday night last weekend following morning would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 1,352 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The Tower is a great hotel, especially for families- they have some great family room, a pool to swim in every morning and generally it always impresses us.

A couple of minor things-
Better quality of bog roll needed
Better showers, its more of a mist spray than a shower
And finally- how about a cold drinks machine on each floor for chilled water?

Overall- still great value- We will be back...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank NyallDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus O, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear NyallDonald

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and will take your comments on board, however we do provide a drinks vending machine on the 1st floor and we also provide 24 hour room service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower Hotel.

Yours in service
Seamus O'Carroll, General Manager
The 3* Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre, based in the heart of Waterford City, is now under new ownership and management, since its acquisition by Neville Hotels in November 2016. Plans are currently underway for an extensive refurbishment programme, schedule for late 2018 / early 2019, which will bring the hotel up to a 4* standard, with additional bedrooms, state of the art conference space and additional car parking. The hotel currently employs a team of 120 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service and who recently won a Gold Award at the IASI Awards for delivering exceptional cleaning standards throughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We booked this hotel at short notice for myself the wife and son for a weekend break. The check-in was very efficient and friendly. The room was Quite comfortable and spacious and the Leisure centre was quite good. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The catering staff bent over backwards to accommodate my son who is coeliac and could not have done anymore for him. The location is good and there is ample parking. Just a couple of downsides, the food was not great and although the bar had great atmosphere I have to say as a Guinness drinker the pints of Guinness were absolutely terrible. Would I stay there again? probably but would choose a close by restaurant and bar for my meals and entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinjp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus O, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear martinjp2000

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your overall experience during your stay in the Tower Hotel, I have noted your points regarding the food and will also take your comments on board with regard to the pints of Guinness. I do hope you will return to the hotel again in the future.

Yours in service
Seamus O'Carroll, General Manager
The 3* Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre, based in the heart of Waterford City, is now under new ownership and management, since its acquisition by Neville Hotels in November 2016. Plans are currently underway for an extensive refurbishment programme, schedule for late 2018 / early 2019, which will bring the hotel up to a 4* standard, with additional bedrooms, state of the art conference space and additional car parking. The hotel currently employs a team of 120 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service and who recently won a Gold Award at the IASI Awards for delivering exceptional cleaning standards throughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Stayed here for 1 night and had a good experience. The hotel and rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. Waterford is pretty small so just about everything is within walking distance of this hotel.

My only complaint would be noise. The street is very audible from within the room and other guests seemed to be making lots of noise walking, talking, and closing doors throughout the night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianJ2964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus O, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Brian J

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay here at the Tower Hotel and also take your comments on board. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours in service
Seamus O'Carroll, General Manager
The 3* Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre, based in the heart of Waterford City, is now under new ownership and management, since its acquisition by Neville Hotels in November 2016. Plans are currently underway for an extensive refurbishment programme, schedule for late 2018 / early 2019, which will bring the hotel up to a 4* standard, with additional bedrooms, state of the art conference space and additional car parking. The hotel currently employs a team of 120 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service and who recently won a Gold Award at the IASI Awards for delivering exceptional cleaning standards throughout the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile


We had our wedding at the tower hotel in July 2017.

From our first point of contact with the wedding coordinators we knew straight away that the towel hotel would be our venue. They gave us booklet and went through each bit of information thoroughly answering any questions we had. After our first initial contact we left with every bit of information we needed and more and were very comfortable with finalising our date knowing our wedding date and venue were in very capable hands. 

For the next year or so during our planning they stayed in contact and made sure we were informed along the way. We met up a few times inbetween and were offered drinks along with our kids as we talked about the wedding details.

The big day arrived and The Tower Hotel were very hands on. Patrick was waiting for us as we arrived and greeted us along with other staff members with champagne and strawberries (A lovely touch).

The room was absolutely amazing. They recently renovated it and it's just magical. Needs to be seen to be believed how stunning this ballroom is. 

The room was beautifully decorated, the tables were as how I imagined and our family and friends made feel as comfortable and close to us as possible. I could not have asked for anything different in that room for our wedding day. They done an amazing job.

The food was gorgeous. Everyone was taking about it for days/weeks after. They really out done themselves. 

The evening reception was done so lovely. We asked for extra food and asked for the menu to be slightly altered to suit our guests and this wasn't a problem for The Tower hotel. Honestly, nothing is. They went above and beyond for us. Nothing was too much.

The bar staff on the night were amazing- very friendly and helpful. 

The rooms for our family and friends were perfect and our room was amazing. Leaving us a lovely little gift to remember our special day. 

If your looking for a venue who keeps you updated and reassured along the way, a beautifully decorated venue with friendly and helpful staff, a gorgeous room to spend your first night as husband and wife then look no further than the Tower Hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lyndsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus O, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Lyndsey E

Thank you for your five star review. We are thrilled to hear that your wedding day was magical here in the Tower Hotel, thank you for all your kind comments about all areas and staff in the hotel, they will all be passed on. We do look forward to welcoming you both back as Mr & Mrs!

Yours in service
Seamus O'Carroll, General Manager
The 3* Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre, based in the heart of Waterford City, is now under new ownership and management, since its acquisition by Neville Hotels in November 2016. Plans are currently underway for an extensive refurbishment programme, schedule for late 2018 / early 2019, which will bring the hotel up to a 4* standard, with additional bedrooms, state of the art conference space and additional car parking. The hotel currently employs a team of 120 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service and who recently won a Gold Award at the IASI Awards for delivering exceptional cleaning standards throughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two nights with my family. The room was nice and well decorated with a modern interior,kids had bunk beds which they greatly enjoyed! Breakfast was quite good and the staff were welcoming. Hotel is in a very good location as it is in the city centre. Also the swimming pool is a very good asset, when you're traveling with kids. Overall, it was quite an enjoyable stay and I would return again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PhyllisCrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus O, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear PhyllisCrowley

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay here at the Tower Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours in service
Seamus O'Carroll, General Manager
The 3* Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre, based in the heart of Waterford City, is now under new ownership and management, since its acquisition by Neville Hotels in November 2016. Plans are currently underway for an extensive refurbishment programme, schedule for late 2018 / early 2019, which will bring the hotel up to a 4* standard, with additional bedrooms, state of the art conference space and additional car parking. The hotel currently employs a team of 120 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service and who recently won a Gold Award at the IASI Awards for delivering exceptional cleaning standards throughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews