We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2017

This is a very nice hotel and good value for money. Reception was curtious and friendly. Room / Suite was huge and very comfortable overlooking the river. We had bar food which was quite enjoyable and good value. Only downside was the night barman who, with his shirt hanging out looking totally unprofessional, was more interested in talking to the locals than serving people who paid to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dubbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

The staff were very courteous. The hotel is on a quiet enough street and overlooks the river at the rear. Parking is very limited on the property but there is street side parking and also a car-park close by. We only stayed one night but were very happy with the service, the cleanliness and the situation. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel great location , girl on reception could of been friendlier and she sent us to the wrong floor for our room when we checked in , room 118 was lovely warm and quiet bed was very comfy view was great of the river, but bathroom could of been cleaner mirror was dirty shower door wasn't clean and dirty marks on the bathroom door , bar man was very friendly and put the football on for my husband bar is really nice and not over priced.......we usually stay in the glasshouse but will stay here again as the breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel really good quality ingredients and nice relaxed restaurant .......all in all a very enjoyable stay

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Linny343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

As we go to this hotel for a number of meals ,it was disappointing when we had a bad experience which started with a waitress been smart with her answer, when one of the women just ask would her meal be much longer the waitress answer said it takes time to cook food. then two of us order desert when another staff said they had none left we asked for her recommendation so the cheesecake was suggest but this was uneatable it was tasteless . when we went to pay we were still charged we were not satisfy with this so we both spoke to the manger which she said if we come again she would do something for us.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Goodweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

What a wonderful hotel! Set beside the river, it's at the end of town but only a 5 min walk into the city centre. The staff were extremely helpful and they all had a great sense of humour too! Breakfast was included in my stay and it was perfect. (And it also overlooks the river so not a bad view to relax to!)

My room was large! The window opened to the river below, on the first night and the second night (I wasn't expecting to stay two nights but a storm came in) overlooked the parking lot, but Sligo is so beautiful you don't even notice! It was very comfortable and the bathroom was also a good size.

There's a pub that plays live music attached to the restaurant, and I was worried it would be loud but I didn't hear a thing and I had my doors open as I'm a cheesy storm lover! I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and in saying that I can't wait to go back!

There isn't alot of parking, but 3 min down the road there is a large free parking lot, so wasn't an issue at all. Thank you for a fantastic stay!!

Room Tip: I preferred the river view, as it was so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilmissmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.5 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,742 reviews
3.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.2 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,151 reviews
0.6 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
439 reviews
8.4 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Riverside | on the edge of the Garavogue River, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: $88 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sligo Town, overlooking the picturesque Garavogue River, the hotel offers an oasis of calm, just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the busy town centre. It is the ideal base for those relaxing after a busy day exploring all this scenic town on the Wild Atlantic Way has to offer. The hotel is quickly becoming famous for its fantastic food offering. The Riverside Restaurant and Mill Bar serves food daily, with menus designed to showcase the very best of locally sourced ingredients. Sligo is one of Ireland's top destinations for an active break, enjoy a spot of fishing or pursue some outdoor activities such as surfing, stand up paddle boarding, cycling, beach walking or mountain hiking. For those a little less adventurous, why not enjoy some retail therapy, or explore the town's restaurants, bars and vibrant nightlife. For those travelling on business, all of our guest bedrooms are bright and airy, and have work spaces which offer good lighting and complimentary high speed wifi to allow you to complete your days work. Meeting room and conference facilities are available for up to 120 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing