We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but in need of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good location but in need of TLC”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We picked the hotel mainly for its good central location and it ticks all boxes. No problem getting into/out of Sligo and town centre is only 10mins walking distance away. Free parking was also a bonus.
Reception staff were very friendly. Unfortunately we ended up with room 307 - right opposite the ancient lift which was the noisiest lift I have ever heard. We tried to swop rooms but due to it being Easter no other rooms were available. The lift kept us awake for quite some time and also woke us up early in the morning as it really is from another era so do try to request a room far away from the lift.
The bathroom also is in need of TLC - the toilet seat in particular appeared to be ''mouldy'' and could do with a general upgrade. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on breakfast or dinner. There are plenty of pubs/restaurant in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    212
    170
    76
    74
See reviews for
103
300
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A nice hotel in need of refurbishment. The tiny lift gave up the ghost during our stay which meant hauling suitcases up and down stairs. Wi-fi works only spasmodically. Not a highlight of our Irish tour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Hi, I stayed at the hotel on one of the coupon deals so didn't pay very much to start with. We were 2 adults and 1 big kid, the hotel had no problem giving us a big enough room and it was very reasonable to add the price of my son (from memory 10 euro per day extra). We stayed 2 nights. Initially our room had no wi-fi so we complained and were moved very quickly to one that had. The hotel itself is a little old and tired but comfortable. The bar area was more modern and the food was great. Everything is still VERY expensive in the south and this hotel bar is no different. The hotel is right next to the train/bus station, so great for travel. It is also quite central so easy to walk everywhere and the town is great at night time with some great pubs. Sligo is a wonderful area for travel and scenery so all in all it was a great value place to stay and be able to travel from. The open fires are a nice touch in reception The little leisure centre is a bit tired but usable and they have a great little quirky plunge pool for after the steam room/sauna which you don't often get. All in all, not a bad place and busy so lots of opportunity to meet people (and there were plenty of different nationalities there to talk to).

Room Tip: walk up town and enjoy a pint or two with the locals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raffoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandragee Co. Armagh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

“The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was very clean with lots of towels. The breakfast restaurant was spacious and there was a good selection of food in the breakfast buffet, evening meals were excellent gr8 value for money ” would have no hesitation in recommending to other people !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here in Feb, got a great deal on city deals. We were visiting friends in Sligo and this hotel was perfect, great location, right at the top of the town, everything in walking distance. Found the hotel to be a little bit dated, but very clean and all the staff really nice, very helpfull with anything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadAK2008Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,067 reviews
0.6 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,615 reviews
1.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.5 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
406 reviews
1.0 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Property: Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price range (per night): $120 - $210
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing