We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Character & Comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
James Tymon cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
James Tymon cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
James Tymon cottage.
Our simple to operate stove with unlimited turf supplied for your stay.
Living room with views over courtyard
Everything you require will be found in our well equipped kitchen.
Old hand made glass with shutters in our bathroom.
19th century wrought iron bed frame.
Looking for a good read? Try one of ours.
View from the landing towards the double doors leading to the front porch.
Relax in our courtyard.
Looking up river from river path.
Path at rear of haybarn.
Garden with views of outbuildings
Snow on stone.
Auyumn colour.
Main bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with a double and a large (4') single beds.
Living room with satalite tv,books and games or why not relax in front of the fire with a glass of wine
Speckled light on path from Rookery.
Cartway leading through wrought iron gate to meadows beyond
Enjoy a walk on the river path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sligo, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
maryronni...
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Character & Comfort”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A lovely place to stay, both in the cottage & its surroundings. Kieran is a great host & the cottage has everything you could need for a comfortable & enjoyable visit. We were very lucky to have had great weather & could sit outside & eat - would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable home from home.

Many thanks Kieran

Mary & Ronnie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside space
Liked least: Nothing was lacking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
it was a real pleasure having you both stay at the cottage and to know that you enjoyed the house and its grounds is very satisfying. Eating outside on the grounds or down by the river is very enjoyable but particularly as you say this summer and autumn when the weather has been so settled.
I look forward to having you both back again at James Tymon cottage some time in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.
Kieran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Cottage and grounds
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
It is with great pleasure that I write this acknowledgement having just read your wonderful and descriptive review of your stay at James Tymon cottage.It is very pleasing to know that the cottage,lands,river and wildlife added so much to your holiday.Hopefully you will both return to the cottage one day where a very warm welcome awaits you.
Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean M
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent cottage and great central location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed at this cottage for two weeks in July, very clean and comfortable, has everything you could need from a well equipped kitchen to very comfortable beds, the grounds around the cottage have been well laid out in walks and there is a walk along the river which we enjoyed very much, we also watched hares and foxes in the fields along the river but you need to be very quiet. A great place with a very friendly owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: we liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
I am delighted you took the time and effort to write such a thoughtful review of my cottage. Your comments about the house and its facilities are much appreciated. The walks around the farm especially along by the river are relaxing and as you found one can happen upon wildlife if you are watchful and what a joy that is. I hope to see you and the family back again at James Tymon cottage sometime in the future. All the best till then.
Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morween
manchester, england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed for four nights, wished we could have stayed longer. Amazing cottage, very welcoming and one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in. Lots of lovely treats and stunning log burner to welcome us. A total gem and well worth a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2014
It was a great pleasure meeting you all and I am very happy that the cottage was all that you hoped it would be. After you left such wonderful comments in my guest book at the cottage I didn't expect that you would go to all the extra trouble of writing a review on Trip Advisor. It was a very pleasant surprise to be told you had done just that. With many thanks for your generous comments may I say I look forward to meeting you back at the cottage again in the not too distant future.
best wishes,


Kieran Ruane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esyled
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Birthday Present”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was a birthday present for my sister who wanted to stay in Ireland on St Patrick's day before her birthday.
She was not disappointed we had a lovely time. The cottage is a real gem and home from home. Kieran had prepared the fires for when we arrived and there was a lovely rhubarb pie to greet us.
The peat fires make it very cosy and a fantastic selection of reading material is available. Must not forget to mention the sumptuous mattresses on the beds for a great nights sleep.
Some great walking on the doorstep along the river.
The locals are really friendly and helpful and there is a store in Gurteen which has everything you need.
Ballymote is a short drive away on your way through to Sligo.
Only one thing the four days was far too short and should have done longer so will next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and setting
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2014
I am delighted you both had an enjoyable experience at the cottage particularly as it was your first visit to Ireland.Thank you for your kind comments on the comfortable beds, the selection of books and the peat fires. Really pleased you took advantage of the walks on the land. It is certainly lovely and peaceful along by the river. I look forward to seeing you both back at the cottage again sometime in the future.

Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing