We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing perfect cottage, Kieran is great. So...”
other travellers have booked this property
James Tymon cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
James Tymon cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
James Tymon cottage.
Our simple to operate stove with unlimited turf supplied for your stay.
Living room with views over courtyard
Everything you require will be found in our well equipped kitchen.
Old hand made glass with shutters in our bathroom.
19th century wrought iron bed frame.
Looking for a good read? Try one of ours.
View from the landing towards the double doors leading to the front porch.
Relax in our courtyard.
Looking up river from river path.
Path at rear of haybarn.
Garden with views of outbuildings
Snow on stone.
Auyumn colour.
Main bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with a double and a large (4') single beds.
Living room with satalite tv,books and games or why not relax in front of the fire with a glass of wine
Speckled light on path from Rookery.
Cartway leading through wrought iron gate to meadows beyond
Enjoy a walk on the river path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sligo, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
C H
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing perfect cottage, Kieran is great. So clean, all you need and personal touches fantastic. Highly recommend”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed at the cottage for a weekend with my husband, sister, brother-in-law, niece and my 2 labradors. Kieran welcomed us to his amazing cottage and grounds, just so perfect. In advance Kieran kindly organised high chair, stay gate and cot for my niece. Roaring turf fire, wine/ apple pie etc. kindly left for us. It has everything you need, so clean and cosy, just truely a home away from home. Our dogs loved it, especially exploring the fantastic grounds. The local village is within walking distance - we walked in with our dogs on the Saturday and met so many friendly locals with a lot of people giving a friendly wave as they passed. I can not recommend this place enough. I will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect, loved the warm welcome and that my dogs could stay
Liked least: Nothing - everything was amazing. I was glad there was no internet also as it is great to get away from everything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about my cottage and for taking the time and trouble to post a review. Its very satisfying to know that you and your family had such a wonderful stay at the cottage. looking forward to having you back at James Tymons cottage in the near future.

Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thirstytr...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Cottage Experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We booked James Tymon farmhouse for 3 nights and ended up staying an extra night because we didn't want to leave. Kieran was so helpful, providing us driving directions and was there to greet us when we arrived. He had the turf fires burning and some much appreciated welcome treats for us. The property is in a great location for touring and returning to this lovely setting at the end of the day was perfect. We took our dog with us and she loved running and playing in all the open space that is available. The house is spotlessly clean and the kitchen has everything you need for cooking and preparing meals ( not always the case in self catering properties). We will be going back for another visit as soon as possible and look forward to taking friends or family in the future. Top Marks!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness and cleanliness of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
It was a pleasure having you both stay at the cottage and your comments about your experience are greatly appreciated. The spacious grounds and paths are certainly welcomed by visitors and their pets. Looking forward to having you both return in the near future.
Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, the location and that we were able to take our much loved dogs with us.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Thank you for your warm and generous comments about your stay at James Tymon cottage. I am very pleased it met with your expectations as in my opinion accomodation is such a major part of ones holiday. Having the benefit of space with 30 acres of grounds but yet within walking distance of the village of Gurteen makes it an ideal base. As you pointed out it is well located for touring and exploring not only Co Sligo but also the neighbouring counties of Galway Mayo Donegal and Roscommon.
I very much look forward to welcoming you all back to the cottage in the near future.

Kieran Ruane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this property far exceeded our expectations.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2012
It is very satisfying to read such warm comments about your stay at the cottage and the standard of comfort you found there. I am very pleased you and your husband derived so much pleasure from your photography around the grounds and his enjoyment of fishing on the river. Even though I don't fish myself the walk from the house down to and along by the river bank and back through the land is one of my favourites.
I am really pleased the cottage played such a memorable part in your holiday. Thank you for your kind comments and I hope you will return to Co Sligo and to this cottage.
Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2traveler...
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

What a great experience! Charming cottage, all that was advertised and more. Very clean, nicely fitted with all the conveniences needed. Great location for exploring the West. Gurteen is nice and quiet and has a wonderful Traditional irish Music Center. We really enjoyed our visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and property
Liked least: Lack of continuos wi-fi. We did receive 3G periodically and wi-fi was easy to get at the local pub
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2012
I am delighted you found the cottage and grounds to your liking and that it was everything you expected. As you said Gurteen which is only 1km away has a very strong traditional music scene not alone in the pubs but also the Coleman music centre which attracts music groups from all over during the summer.Hopefully you can return sometime.You will be most welcome.
Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 82
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing