We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Dun na nGall, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Revisited this hotel for overnight stay. Still as comfortable, friendly and good value. Great food, both dinner and breakfast. Friendly staff, cheerful and efficient. Bedroom and bathroom large, comfortable, spacious with couch to relax and watch TV. 4 poster bed was nice surprise. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carraigcloige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    288
    98
    54
    36
See reviews for
468
415
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed one night midweek at the Hillgrove. Parking was easy, right in front of the hotel and free of charge. The hotel is well signed and easy to find.
The lobby area is impressive with two massive chandeliers and seemed a popular place to sit and have a cup of coffee. I found all the staff I dealt with in reception and the bar to be very friendly and efficient. The room was very large with one double and two single beds. The bathroom was also large with a separate bath and shower. I slept well and found it quiet midweek. I didn't visit the leisure centre/spa.
I would stay here again but I wouldn't eat here again. I didn't enjoy my dinner or my breakfast. I ate in the bar and opted for one of the meals marked as a healthy option. It was a very large plate of ravioli, but it was very dry, a few pieces of chopped tomato scattered around it and no sauce. The portions are massive...which is something alot of people wouldn't have an issue with but the table next to me also commented on how much food they had - surely the hotel wastes a mountain of food by serving portions that are too large..how much food/money are they throwing in the bin?
Being midweek, the buffet at breakfast was a continental selection and hot food was made to order. It was made to order badly. Watery scrambled eggs that were scalding on the surface and cold underneath which smacks of a plate sitting under the heat lamp or grill...half a tomato that was stone cold, and a group of mushrooms, some cold, some warm...also a large greasy splodge on the plate where I can only guess something had been placed and then removed. The hotel wasn't busy so I can't understand how the cooked breakfast could be so poor.
Stay here but don't expect anything special in regards to food, which is a shame, because it's not difficult or expensive to serve well made food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newry
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Went there with my wife and two children for an overnight on Mothers Day. It's our second time to stay there and enjoyed it very much. This hotel is a mix of old and new buildings, both are equally charming. Family rooms are clean, spacious, bright and cheerful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is good, both in the dining room and bar.
The leasure complex is modern, well supervised and clean. As well as the pool it contains a steam room, sauna, pool fitness centre. There is also an outdoor hot-tub which is a treat.
We enjoyed our time there and will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have stayed in the Hillgrove Hotel many times now and its hard to beat with great rates and good food. 3 course menu in the bar for €19:95. Staff are friendly and attentive. Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carraiglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A great place to stay - clean, comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. It's nice also to be in a town where everyone has a word for you and a lovely mix of old and new buildings. Check out the Indian restaurant there in Monaghan town too... the best I've ever had in Ireland (and I lived in London for 7 years!)

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to be put in the new part of the hotel. Not sure if it makes any difference as we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
1.4 km away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.9 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
220 reviews
9.2 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
0.8 km away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
71 reviews
19.8 km away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Property: Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price range (per night): $128 - $279
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing