We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Very easy check-in, even though we were early. Our family room in the New Wing was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was bright, large and spotless with both a bath and shower.
The leasure complex was excellant, again spotless. The staff were very fussy about children running outside the pool area insisting on them wearing flip-flops at all times if they were out of the water at all. So note -you will need flip-flops if you intend to visit the pool, adults too. They have a spa but I didn't visit it.
Food was good, there was an offer on of a 3 course evening meal for 20 euro. Bar snacks were good value too, around 6.95 for a pinini and 4.50 for soup.
A very child/ family friendly hotel, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: The new wing is spacious
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,271 - 1,275 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

recently used the Hillgrove Hotel for wedding reception.
In a word from start to finish the staff, management and all round service was second to none. I could not say enough for banqueting manager as we organised the function from long distance calling to the hotel only twice in 15 months. Alot of the guests stayed and all ate the food on the day and I never heard one complant only rave reviews. Keep up the good work..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanefeeney42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Had an amazing stay at this hotel for the weekend. From arrival, the staff were nothing but helpful and informative and really relaxing. We were delighted and impressed with our room.

We are in the restaurant on Friday evening for dinner and can not recommend the food any higher!! It was simply beautiful. Not to mention the service. The saturday morning we showered and were disappointed to find that the water reaches luke warm and not hot.

We used the hot tub/pool area in the afternoon. We were a small bit annoyed that we had to pay for the flipflops which are usually provided in rooms for guests but we soon got over this. The outdoor hottub was fab and it was nice to talk to other couples who were staying in the hotel.


The Saturday night we went to bed early. At 4am we were woken to a screaming Hen Party next door. As myself and my partner would be young ourselves, we gave them about half an hour thinking it may calm down. It didnt. We called reception and they asked our lovely hen neighbours to calm down and take in to consideration the rest of the guests. They didnt take heed of the advice and another guest on the floor who had children then knocked on their door. It broke out into a row. This particular hen party were rude and had absolutely no consideration for other people their or their circumstances.

The noise continued till the next morning. I think the manager dealt with it well btu it was just a sour ending as neither of us got a lot of sleep. It defeated the purpose of our relaxing weekend away.

I will be back to the Hilgrove but i will ask for the reservations team to ensure that we are not placed next to a Hen Party or on the same floor for that matter. We just counted ourselves lucky not to have children! But this doesnt take away from the service, staff or food! Great if not fussed over sleep.

Room Tip: Request a room which isnt situated near Hen Parties.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slcullen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Myself & my wife were invited to a wedding, the reception was in the Hillgrove Hotel, it is one of the best run hotels we were ever in , the staff, rooms, food even the atmosphere you'd swear you were after droping in on old friends, nothing was beyond there capabilitys to make sure you enjoyed yourself. We came away saying that we'd have stayed at up to 30 or so hotels all over the world, a lot of them would be classed as 5 star but not too many came up to the standard of the Hillbrooke Hotel, we were sorry we didn't stay for longer, but i garantee you we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This is a very big hotel in a lovely setting in Monaghan town. We were surprised how spacious and bright our room, bed and bathroom were. The accommodation was top class, absolutely everything was supplied. It was a horrible night out, wet and windy and our room was warm and cosy. Guests can avail of the leisure centre facilities, and there is also an outdoor hot tub – if you’re brave enough in October! We dined in an Indian restaurant in the town called the Eastern Balti House. This is probably the best Indian meal we have ever had. It was superb from beginning to end and terrific value as well. The restaurant itself was tastefully decorated, there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the toilets were spotlessly clean, which is something you don’t come across often. We were even offered a drink on the house before leaving, and they arranged for a taxi to take us back to the Hillgrove. However, visitors be warned, we walked down the hill to the restaurant and decided to take a taxi back. We had asked the receptionist at the hotel beforehand and she told us the taxi fare should be around €3 but because we weren’t locals we would probably be charged more … we were … our fare came to €5. We were delighted to get back to the hotel so quickly on such an awful night, but it’s just something to bear in mind. We had a filling and substantial breakfast next morning, and there was a very good choice on offer to suit everybody. There is just one negative thing to point out about check-out. We were leaving at around 9 a.m. and there was a queue of people at reception. Some were checking out, others were making enquiries and the receptionist was trying to deal with this, along with answering phones, while we noted at least three other members of staff walking by the desk who could not have been oblivious to the queue as they had to walk through it. They didn’t stop to ask the receptionist if she needed help, which would have speeded up things considerably. It could make a very big difference to business people who need to get going as quickly as possible. Having said all that, we had a very enjoyable visit to Monaghan and would not hesitate to stay at the Hillgrove again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
1.4 km away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
1.0 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
225 reviews
9.2 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
72 reviews
39.8 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
19.8 km away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Monaghan

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: $161 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing