We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boffin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boffin Lodge
Ranked #14 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay , sorry it was only one night. Bernie's hospitality (fresh orange juice for breakfast, offer to do washing for Aussie travellers ,so appreciated) Bernie's recommendation for dinner, local knowledge excellent. Great room, excellent bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooksflyfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    49
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
56
111
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed in hostels most of my trip through Ireland, but splurged (moderately-- only a bit over 40 Euros) and was surprised by the elegance of this small guest house. Deep-toned paint in lobby, large leather sofas and chairs in sitting room, sweet little room with lots of wood, desk, hairdryer, teapot, fridge; impeccably clean and nice, including the ensuite bath. Hostess (Bernie) poured small pitcher of fresh milk and put in fridge in case I wanted to make tea before bedtime. Was asked to choose from menu of hot breakfast dishes the night before. Breakfast room was spacious and sunny with linen tablecloths/napkins, everything very elegant in a country-home manner, with chickens outside the glass doors (the eggs were very fresh). Two families with children were at breakfast. Excellent traditional music pub (Matt Molloy's) in the town center, about a kilometer or two away was the big attraction for me, although many things to do in Westport. Excellent value for the price of the room-- I would recommend it to discerning travelers, even honeymooners -- I don't see how anyone would be disappointed unless you like huge, extravagant rooms. No wi-fi but you can use their internet on hallway computer, supposedly just for a few minutes but no one was timing me or waiting.

Room Tip: I only saw my own room. I would guess they're all equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrcasWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed in boffin lodge with a group of 11 ladies for one night while in westport. When looking for accommodation for a group in westport for one night, I found most places too expensive over €65 p/p even sharing a room with two other!, then I remembered staying in boffin lodge 5 or so years ago for a friends hen night and decided to call for price. got speaking to Bernie, who was a so helpful. we had a fantastic stay, boffin lodge is a home away from home, lovely sitting room, bedrooms comfortable and have everything you'll need and breakfast was fab!. Bernie and Mary are so nice to deal with, great information about places to eat & drink and they are so friendly. I'll definitely return, and will be highly recommending Boffin Lodge to all of my friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a double and 2 singles. This room also had an adjoining room, so suitable f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancieAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have stayed in manys a B&B, Hotel, Guest house, Hen house, Out house and some Dog houses let me tell you ! My work has me travelling around Ireland & the UK. Boffin Lodge has everything that you require from a top of the range Guest house yet at a fraction of the price:
* A nice comfortable bed
* Helpful, friendly & obiliging staff
* Fresh, tasty breakfast
* Ideal location to expolore Westport and it's surroundings

It's the simple things that make a trip memorable and pleasent, Boffin Lodge lingers long in the mind for all the RIGHT reasons ! Look forward to returning in the Summer to see Bernie & staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr Mc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Myself, my wife and our 4 3/4 year old had a lovely short break in Westport and were delighted with the service we received in Boffin House. Bernie and Carmel were extremely pleasant hosts and we were made to feel very much at home. mY son Davor was so excited that he could feed the chickens out the back of the house and could also collect the eggs for breakfast! The house is spotlessly clean and has all the facilities you would expect from a guest house but still retains a family atmosphere. Great selection of brealfast available although the menu ordering was a little confusing. I wasn't sure if I could have porridge and a fry! The house is well placed for the quays but it's a fair enough walk to the town although there are loads of taxi companies available. It's also very close to Westport House which is a must for visitors to Westport. We stayed in a family room which had a double and two singles and was ensuite. Bernie was great at recommending things to see and do! The price was very reasonable, working out about £190.00 sterling for 3 nights B and B. Thanks you Bernie for the lovely time we had and hope to bring the new baby down next year. Paddy, Daniela and Davor.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but the family room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick_davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.2 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.2 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
2.4 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.3 km away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boffin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boffin Lodge

Property: Boffin Lodge
Address: Boffin Lodge Boffin Street | The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price range (per night): $97 - $179
Hotel Class:3 star — Boffin Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boffin Lodge is a purpose built 3* Guest House.(1999)It has a wide variety of accommodation available incl a 4 Poster Room with open fireplace. Non Smoking. €35 p.p.s.p.n year round More favourable rates to be had for 2 or more night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Boffin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing