We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're going back if we can!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We're going back if we can!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I spent a few days here last August, and it is in our memory so well that we plan to go back for our silver anniversary this June, IF we can arrange a room as there seems to be some event on our weekend. We would probably even take alternative dates instead of our actual anniversary as we just know it'll be good at St. Anthony's.

We stayed in the Kilkelly room, and found the staff very accommodating and helpful over booking, choosing a room, during our stay, my wife's gluten-free diet and info on local places and restaurants to visit. All the staff are very friendly and as good as we'd expect from the west of Ireland... and more! We chose to avoid the cheaper B&Bs but not pay hotel prices. VERY happy with value for money as reviews of some other cheaper establishments are mixed, generally. Well worth the price, and maybe even better than some hotels with the 'family' atmosphere in the place.

The room was just as spacious and clean as any standard hotel. Breakfast was just superb and all-encompassing, every morning with huge choice. Very close to the town centre - we only had a brief walk to any of the bars or restaurants while our car remained in the private locked yard.

Really hope we can get in a second time :-)

Room Tip: All rooms have different qualities. Look on website, or ring and ask - very informative and accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    43
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
118
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here on a stag weekend, the week after I had a horrible experience at another westport b&b, not to worry, this b&b was lovley. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were really friendly and chatty. Overall I would stay here again as we had an enjoyable stay. The b&b is only a 2 minute walk from the main street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I spent the weekend at St.Anthony's and had an absolutely great time. The owner of the B&B couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Full of tips on what to do around town and nice walks to go on. The rooms were beatuifully decorated, and very comfortable. The showers are especially worth mentioning. Great water pressure and loads of hot water! The only place i'd stay in Westport now that I've discovered this gem!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katelaffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Excellent service, friendly atmosphere, secure parking, lovely rooms, GREAT location can walk to the main street in 3 minutes! Fantastic staff, can't rate this place highly enough it provided the perfect weekend break!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caoimhe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just back from an incredible stay at St. Anthony's River Side! I had been there before a few times but since it has been completely done up to perfection!! The location is perfect, only minutes walk to the centre of the town!! has ample off street parking also!! Already looking forward to my next visit! Paul the host was very accommodating and was happy to offer advise on activities and local amenities.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie26c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,372 reviews
0.1 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
1,938 reviews
0.3 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,551 reviews
2.1 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
848 reviews
0.9 km away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 70 in Westport
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Property: St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Distillery Road | Carrowbeg, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price range (per night): $112 - $154
Hotel Class:3 star — St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Anthonys is a charming characterful B&B situated in its own oasis in heart of Westport Town, Co. Mayo, Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing