We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting”
other traveller has booked this property
Toms Cottage Traditional old Irish cottage in beautiful Clew bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Toms Cottage Traditional old Irish cottage in beautiful Clew bay.
View from front door Side view of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Toms Cottage Traditional old Irish cottage in beautiful Clew bay.
View from front door
Side view of cottage
Front Lawn
Main Bedroom
Living Room
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon M
1 review
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rosemary rang us on arrival. Lovely house close to westport. Unfortunately our car broke down we rang Rosemary and she organized a tow truck and she came and stayed with us until car was sorted nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately we had to cut our holiday short but would definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmphoto
1 review
“Beautifully restored cottage with in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Tom's cottage with two children aged 6 and 8. The house has all the mod cons with cooker, microwave, large fridge freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, electric shower and oil fired central heating, yet it retains all the qualities of a traditional old cottage, including a bed behind curtains in an alcove beside the fire in the living room! It was cool enough outside on a few of the evenings we stayed, but the house is very warm and there was no need to turn the heating on.

The house is tastefully decorated with boating memorabelia, and if you inspect some of the old photographs hanging on the wall, you will notice that these have real connections with the cottage rather than just bits and pieces picked up in antique shops. If you have an interest in history, you'll love it!

When we arrived, Declan and Rosemary had left us fresh milk, coffee and biscuits to get us started. Declan had also erected a tent in the front garden in case the kids wanted to play in it! There are toys, teddy bears, and games in the house too, so plenty to keep the kids happy. There's a portable TV with the standard Saorview channels in the living room. That may not be enough to entertain the kids in the evenings. I had a laptop with some movies and that worked quite well. We had intended going to the cinema at some stage, but unfortunately we found that the cinema in Westport has closed down. There is a large cinema in Castlebar but we didn't venture that far this time.

In the beautifully kept garden there are swings, a toddler slide, a BBQ and garden chairs. The kids were delighted to find a dog living next door for them to play with, but she won't bother you if you don't call her over. At the back there is a gated courtyard which could be useful if you have younger kids that you want to keep contained while they play. There is a shed at the back of the house too which we found great for storing the bikes we had brought along for cycling on the nearby Great Western Greenway. The driveway leads directly down to Rosmoney Pier. Two doors down is the Mayo Sailing Club, so there is plenty of boating activity to watch every day, usually groups of teenagers learning to sail. Tom's Cottage is almost at the end of the road to the pier, so there is no traffic passing. At night time it is incredibly quiet.

There are no shops in Rosmoney, but once you plan in advance everything you need will be found 10 mins away in Westport. There is also a good playground on the Rosmoney side of Westport. Westport House and Pirate Adventure Park is nearby too.

Mobile phone reception at the house is quite good, at least on the o2 network, though we did occasionally lose reception. 3G or Edge reception is possible most of the time too.

Just looking at the description of the cottage here, I think the only thing incorrect is the listing of a safe. I didn't see a safe in the house.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Tom's Cottage. In fact, the kids described it as the "Best house ever"! No doubt we will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy cottage, the peace and quiet, and the views
Liked least: The nearest shop is a bit of a trek if you've forgotten something
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerald l
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a fantastic stay at Toms Cottage!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at Toms Cottage,the scenery is beautiful and the cottage was lovely and is a great base to explore the west.Our two young children aged 2 and 6 really enjoyed the tent and swings in the garden and loved exploring the shoreline.We would recommend this cottage as a perfect holiday home getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, NSW Australia
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason R
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing cottage, a true gem, perfect in every way”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Tom's cottage with our 3 children, we cannot speak highly enough about our whole experience in this fantastic country cottage.
The cottage is located roughly 6 miles from Westport, which is a great town and had everything we required. We would highly recommend it and will definately stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful veiws of clew bay.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing