We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed for three nights arriving on Monday 26th March 2012. Very good hotel with nice rooms and good ensuite facilities. Even though our room was overlooking the car park it was quiet with the only interruption being the morning when the bins were being collected. The pool area was very clean as was the changing room and shower area. Great Sauna and Steam room. Fantastic facility.

Room Tip: Room to the front with a view of Clew Bay attract a surcharge but may be noisier with the traffic et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    318
    70
    31
    14
See reviews for
162
464
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for St. Patricks weekend and had a great time. Lots of activities availanle to book in Adventure Island nextdoor. The meal in the hotel was great and I had two teenage boys and a ten yr old daughter who all loved the stay. The leisure centre is at the resr great with a fine pool and sauna steam room etc. The cinema is also at the rear and the staff of the hotel were vety polite and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel this town and Adventure Island activities.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenSHardlanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our club visited Mayo for the St Patricks weekend,we travelled with a party of sixty hill walkers. We stayed for 2 B&B and 1D. Our host's at the Clew Bay Hotel could not have done more for us . The professional manner in which such a large group was catered for is a credit to the management and staff of this family owned hotel.
Our accomodation was excellant,as was the food we were served.
As Chairperson and organiser of the trip I did not receive one complaint from our party,and boy did we party.
I would highly recommend the Clew Bay Hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank modlk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. I went here on a school trip and we got a really good rate. Some hotels would be weary of letting a big group of sixteen year olds stay in the hotel but the staff here were very welcoming towards us. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and everything was very clean. The food was delicious, could not fault it. Some of the staff at the hotel came with us on our climb up Croagh Patrick and they were really friendly and made the experience very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caoimhe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in the Clew Bay Hotel with a group of friend on a mission to climb Croagh Patrick and found it to be excellent. With staff that were very helpful. Rooms that were spotless and melt in the mouth food. I will without a doubt be a return customer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,427 reviews
1.7 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
891 reviews
0.3 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,612 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,042 reviews
1.1 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Best Value Hotel in Westport
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price range (per night): $137 - $275
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing